Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Slow packet Rate in airodump

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default Slow packet Rate in airodump

    Greetings.
    I have been having issues with a very slow packet rate in airmon,
    Its running on my eeepc 1000HE with backtrack 4 pre-release as a Hdd install

    I have been issuing the following commands in this order
    Code:
    airodump-ng -w /home/Akeldema/  --channel 1 ra0
    Then Running
    Code:
    aireplay-ng -1 0 -e "Ap name" -a "Ap Mac" -h "My Mac" ra0
    This runs fine for a while and then exits with an "attack unsuccessful message
    I then run
    Code:
    aireplay-ng -3 -b 0"Ap mac" -h "my mac" ra0
    Is there anything glaringly wrong i am doing here,
    from what i have read i should be receiving more than 0-1 packets a second


    thanks
    Akeldema.

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Akeldema View Post
    Greetings.
    I have been having issues with a very slow packet rate in airmon,
    Its running on my eeepc 1000HE with backtrack 4 pre-release as a Hdd install

    I have been issuing the following commands in this order
    Code:
    airodump-ng -w /home/Akeldema/  --channel 1 ra0
    Then Running
    Code:
    aireplay-ng -1 0 -e "Ap name" -a "Ap Mac" -h "My Mac" ra0
    This runs fine for a while and then exits with an "attack unsuccessful message
    I then run
    Code:
    aireplay-ng -3 -b 0"Ap mac" -h "my mac" ra0
    Is there anything glaringly wrong i am doing here,
    from what i have read i should be receiving more than 0-1 packets a second


    thanks
    Akeldema.
    If your aireplay-ng -1 0 is failing (i.e. fakeauth) then you can't be injecting your arp packets with -3. Try running the --test to see if your card is operating correctly. Don't forget the documentation on the aircrack-ng website - there are some simple guides there which you should be following exactly.

    You want to be sure you are in monitor mode, and sure that you are able to inject. What is your wireless card?
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    The Wlan card is a Atheros Ar8113/Ar8114

    I will fire backtrack back up and try the --test command, I will edit the Post with results from that.
    I ran the --test command, here is the results
    Code:
    04:41:25 Trying broadcast probe requests...
    04:41:27 No awnser
    04:41:27 Found 1 AP
    
    04:41:27 Trying Directed Probe Requests...
    04:41:27 00:1D:5A:6F:1F:F1 - channel:1 - 'My Ap'
    04:41:33 0/30 0%

  4. #4
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    What's the signal strength you are getting?
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    50-60%

    Have not tried sitting right next to it as of yet, laptop's battery is a bit flat and on charger after a day at uni

  6. #6
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Try and sit next to it.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Will do.
    Ill report back in a minute or two

    Exact same as below with 100% reception
    Its getting me stumped

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Akeldema View Post
    Will do.
    Ill report back in a minute or two

    Exact same as below with 100% reception
    Its getting me stumped
    Your card isn't able to inject against that AP. The 0% gives that away.

    If I run a test on my own system (you need to be in monitor mode, I also needed to do a iwconfig ath0 channel 6 to get to my AP's channel.

    Code:
    aireplay-ng -9 ath0
    Trying broadcast probe requests...
    Injection is working!
    Found 1 AP
    
    Trying directed probe requests...
    00:11:22:33:44:55 - channel: 6 - 'gitsnik_test_ap'
    Ping (min/avg/max): 4.000ms/88.798ms/124.003ms Power: 60.30
    30/30: 100%
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gitsnik View Post
    Your card isn't able to inject against that AP. The 0% gives that away.

    If I run a test on my own system (you need to be in monitor mode, I also needed to do a iwconfig ath0 channel 6 to get to my AP's channel.

    Code:
    aireplay-ng -9 ath0
    Trying broadcast probe requests...
    Injection is working!
    Found 1 AP
    
    Trying directed probe requests...
    00:11:22:33:44:55 - channel: 6 - 'gitsnik_test_ap'
    Ping (min/avg/max): 4.000ms/88.798ms/124.003ms Power: 60.30
    30/30: 100%
    I Will try forcing it into monitor mode again and see what happens

    Edit. Hmmm still did nothing

  10. #10
    Very good friend of the forum Gitsnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Crystal Wind
    Posts
    851

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Akeldema View Post
    I Will try forcing it into monitor mode again and see what happens

    Edit. Hmmm still did nothing
    Are you getting the 0% again? If you are you need to figure out what's wrong with your drivers.
    Still not underestimating the power...

    There is no such thing as bad information - There is truth in the data, so you sift it all, even the crap stuff.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •