Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Network problems

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default Network problems

    Ok so here's the deal. I have a linksys wireless-b usb adapter (wusb11 2.6) and it seems to not be compatible with linux :/. I tried ifconfig and iwconfig and it does not show up. However, I try my other similar linksys wireless g usb adapter (wusb54Gv2) on my other similar box and it works fine-for a while. On that machine, the adapter shows up on both configs as wlan0 as expected. I run "sudo /etc/init.d/wicd start" and am able to connect to my protected network. However, it eventually disappears after about 5 minutes and there are 0 networks in range. I checked iwconfig again and my device still shows up, yet all the networks magically disappear. I am not a linux guru. Does anyone have any advice?

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    What does a
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    show youwhen you have your wusb11 2.6 connected?
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Junior Member JoeleZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo79 View Post
    Ok so here's the deal. I have a linksys wireless-b usb adapter (wusb11 2.6) and it seems to not be compatible with linux :/. I tried ifconfig and iwconfig and it does not show up. However, I try my other similar linksys wireless g usb adapter (wusb54Gv2) on my other similar box and it works fine-for a while. On that machine, the adapter shows up on both configs as wlan0 as expected. I run "sudo /etc/init.d/wicd start" and am able to connect to my protected network. However, it eventually disappears after about 5 minutes and there are 0 networks in range. I checked iwconfig again and my device still shows up, yet all the networks magically disappear. I am not a linux guru. Does anyone have any advice?
    I'm using linksys wusb54gv4 and v2, both fine with me.
    Never had any problem.
    May be some one around you sending deauth attack to you.

    Quote Originally Posted by KMdave
    show youwhen you have your wusb11 2.6 connected?
    You can try what KMdave said, ifconfig -a.
    it's show all the network adapter.
    After seeing what your device name there, eg. eth0 ath0 and the other, you must
    do up the device. eg. ifconfig ath0 up. after that look at your iwconfig. if it's going alright there must be your device in iwconfig. Maybe you haven't activated the device with ifconfig XXXX up.

    Regards,
    JoeleZ

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks for the advice guys, I'll give it a shot real quick. And no there is no possibility of someone using a deauth attack against me; I live in a very small city, and I am 99% sure I am the only hacker.

  5. #5
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo79 View Post
    Thanks for the advice guys, I'll give it a shot real quick. And no there is no possibility of someone using a deauth attack against me; I live in a very small city, and I am 99% sure I am the only hacker.
    Well, you should reconsider calling yourself a hacker, if you have trouble getting your network to work.
    Not meant as an insult but an advice
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Yeah well I can hack on windows... just linux does not get along with me nicely. On a side note, nothing worked. ifconfig wlan0 up did nothing productive. The card is up, yet no networks detected.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Since when do you need linux to hack? It's not the only operating system. Am I not a hacker because I don't know how to configure network connections on every OS? Sorry, that was just an ignorant statement. I am trying to learn another OS and cannot seem to see what the problem on it is, which is why I came to its home forum. If no one knows, that's fine. If it helps, I'm running on a HP pavillion a750y and the other box is a HP pavillion 850y. The ifconfig -a shows that it is up and running, however wicd still reveals no networks. But as I already stated, I am not a linux guru and would just like some advice.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Regardless, can anyone help? ifconfig -a shows that the adapter is up and running, yet no networks are found.

  9. #9
    Junior Member JoeleZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo79 View Post
    Regardless, can anyone help? ifconfig -a shows that the adapter is up and running, yet no networks are found.
    First, do not post the same question on diferent posting. It's look like you are spaming so your thread could get up on the list.

    Second, ifconfig -a show you all the network device.
    It doesn't mean that any device found on ifconfig -a already up. Just see again in your 'ifconfig' without -a. is it there or not ?

    Third, Hacker would try to googling how to do a thing about this if that hacker wanna learn, not asking to people. This is basic problem about networking and a lot of sample case out there with some 'pretty' answer.

    Regards,
    JoeleZ

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    You sometimes have to when it takes mod approval to post. If you disagree with a mod, they might not approve a post; hence repeating a question three different ways. The three attempts at posting were made at different parts of the day while I saw new posts from other authors coming in which confirmed my theory of a mod not agreeing with what I say. It seems that someone eventually approved them all to make me look bad when the third reply would have sufficed.

    As I have already stated, the device shows up on ifconfig -a. Someone said to try ifconfig wlan0 up. I tried that and now wlan0 says "up."

    Thirdly, a hacker would do whatever it takes to fix the problem. Do you honestly think I have not tediously searched the bottoms of the internet for a fix for this problem? I would not resort to asking a forum unless I had searched days on end for a problem. Yes I RTFM, yes I googled, yes I searched the forums. Nothing worked; no one had a similar problem of a device showing up but then not working with wicd.

    And finally, I fiddled around with powercycling the device, spamming ifconfig and iwconfig and it eventually worked. Now good day to you sirs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •