Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Samsung NC10

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default Samsung NC10

    Hardware details:
    hxxp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samsung_NC10

    Working Hardware:
    1, VGA
    • VGA Output

    2, Sound
    • Build-in Speakers
    • Headphones Output
    • Mic Output

    3,LAN
    4,Wireless
    • Monitor/Injection

    5, Bluetooth
    6, WebCam
    7, Card Reader

    Fn Keys:
    • [Fn] + Esc --> Suspend
    • [Fn] + F10 --> Lock Touchpad
    • [Fn] + F11 --> NumLock
    • [Fn] + PgUp --> Home
    • [Fn] + PgDn --> End


    Not Working:
    2, Rest of the Fn keys

    Btw. You guys did great job with BT4, finally as you can see almost every piece of hardware is working properly. Even suspend and hibernate is working as it should. I'll try find solution for the rest Fn keys and build-in mic. Again, Many thanks BT4 team.

    Small quide to fix audio and brightness Fn keys. Actualy I was not able to remap [Fn]+F5,[Fn]+UP and [Fn]+Down for Brightess so instead I'm using combination of Ctrl+F5,Ctrl+Up and Ctrl+Down.

    Follow these Steps:

    1, Install additional aplications:
    Code:
    apt-get install xbindkeys xbacklight
    2,Create config file for xbindkeys:
    Code:
    xbindkeys --defaults > /etc/.xbindkeysrc
    3, Modify .xbindkeysrc
    Code:
    nano /etc/.xbindkeysrc
    Code:
    	#BrightnessUp
    	"xbacklight -inc 10"
        	m:0x4 + c:111
        	Control + Up 
    
    	#BrighthessDown
    	"xbacklight -dec 10"
        	m:0x4 + c:116
       	Control + Down 
    
    	#VolumeUP
    	"amixer -c 0 sset Master 1dB+"
        	m:0x0 + c:123
        	XF86AudioRaiseVolume 
    
    	#VolumeDown
    	"amixer -c 0 sset Master 1dB-"
        	m:0x0 + c:122
       	XF86AudioLowerVolume 
    
    	#VolumeOff
    	"audiofn.rb"
       	m:0x0 + c:121
       	XF86AudioMute 
    
    	#BrightessOff
    	"screenfn.rb"
       	m:0x4 + c:71
        	Control + F5
    4, Create two small ruby scripts for controling audio dB level and brightness
    Code:
    nano /usr/bin/audiofn.rb
    Code:
    	#! /usr/bin/ruby
    
    	dB_LEVEL = `amixer -c 0 | grep -m1 "Mono:" | cut -d"[" -f2 | cut -d"%" -f1`
    
    	if(dB_LEVEL.to_i > 0):`amixer -c 0 sset Master 0%`
    	else `amixer -c 0 sset Master 85%` end
    Code:
    	nano /usr/bin/screenfn.rb
    Code:
    	
    	#! /usr/bin/ruby
    
    	backligh_stat = `xbacklight -get`
    
    	if (backligh_stat.to_i > 0):`xbacklight -set 0%`
    	else `xbacklight -set 90%` end
    Code:
    	chmod 755 /usr/bin/audiofn.rb
    	chmod 755 /usr/bin/screenfn.rb
    5, Start xbinkeys on startup
    Code:
    nano $HOME/.kde3/Autostart/start.sh
    Code:
    	#! /bin/sh
    
    	#Start Programs on kde start
    
    	if ["$(pidof xbindkeys)" = ""];then
            		xbindkeys -f /etc/.xbindkeysrc
    	fi
    NOTE: If anyone know how to get [Fn]+F5,[Fn]+UP and [Fn]+Down keys working let me know

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO Amenemhet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hey Shadow,
    I have the NC10 as well, all trials with bt4pre on usb were fine.
    However, installed to hd and no sound...no card detected...any ideas?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi Amenemhet,
    Not sure why it's happening but if you log in as non-root user alsa drivers will "stop working". To fix this problem you have to log in as root.

    Usually, working as root is Dangerous!! but BT4 is not common linux distro and almost 70% percent of tools require root privileges. So I prefer instead of sudo all the programs just use root priv.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default replace the wireless?

    Which samsung nc10 did you pick up, and did you have to replace the wireless card? I didn't believe that intel chips supported monitor mode and injections. If they do, sweet! I'm looking for a netbook and this is shaping up to be better and better...

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default network card

    -wtf the other post that wouldnt go thru went through-

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Imperative View Post
    Which samsung nc10 did you pick up, and did you have to replace the wireless card? I didn't believe that intel chips supported monitor mode and injections. If they do, sweet! I'm looking for a netbook and this is shaping up to be better and better...
    Hi Imperative,
    All the Samsung NC10's coming with the Atheros Chipset. So no need to replace Wireless card.
    I bought version with 2 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD, Intel Atom N270 1.6Ghz. Also the reason I choose Samsung is the battery life.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Shadow, if it's possible it'd be great if you could run some basic cracks, like aircrack ng and 0phcrack against some longer passwords and give us some times! I'm in the market for a netbook and if this can pull off some decent times it seems to be the best choice.

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    hxxp://nc10ubuntu.wordpress.com/ has some info on the NC10 that may help with the fn keys.

    Did you get the display working in 1024X600? If so, how?

    Thanks in advance for any help here.

  9. #9
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    I am running BT4PF off a Samsung N110 (NC10 successor) and all runs great.

    I haven't yet bothered with using the FN keys as running of non-persistant USB.


    Downside to the laptop, it cannot boot from SD card, and also the SD card does not fit in flush with the laptop body but sticks out around 2-3 mm.

    Otherwise wireless card works great and performance is really OK.
    I upgraded to 2gig memory which I think best thing to do.

    When running through some cowpatty tables, it was doing around 45500 passphrases per second which is fairly decent.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hey, I am running BT4 on a N110 too! We should trade notes.

    I was unable to de-auth a WPA client using the internal wireless. However, when I reconnected with a client manually, it captured the handshake. I plugged in the Alfa and it worked fine. De-auth'ing worked with the exact same command (aireplay-ng -0 1 -a [bssid] -c [client MAC] mon0) and it captured the handshake.

    Are you able to de-auth WPA clients with the internal wireless?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •