Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Network card don't know

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Network card don't know

    i've installed BT4 in my vmware and i ues the vmware 6.0
    when i try with ifconfig command,
    the network card knows only loopback.
    it don't know the eth0
    so, what should i do to know the network card
    hopefully that u'll reply

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Please replay me

    please replay me...........

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    i have the same problem also i can't verify my network card

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Neither one of you will get any serious replies without first posting some info on the types of cards you are using.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    I'll bet you a dollar it's an internal mini-pci wifi card.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3

    Smile Network card don't know

    Hi.......

    I think BackTrack-3 is more smart than BackTrack4 prefinal
    BackTrack3 include more driver for network.
    Now,I use BackTrack3 and it know my network card.........

    Thanks....

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by facelesslucifer View Post
    Hi.......

    I think BackTrack-3 is more smart than BackTrack4 prefinal
    BackTrack3 include more driver for network.
    Now,I use BackTrack3 and it know my network card.........

    Thanks....
    If you were to submit your setup instead of flaming BT4-pre it would probably get a response. It would also help other people with a similar setup.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    i have 2 network card one is realtek buitlin card and the other is d-link DWL-G550 wireless card and neither 2 are recognized by backtrack4 what should i do so i can start using internet even i try to install madwifi 0.9.4 !!???

  9. #9
    Senior Member lordplagueis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by facelesslucifer View Post
    i've installed BT4 in my vmware and i ues the vmware 6.0
    when i try with ifconfig command,
    the network card knows only loopback.
    it don't know the eth0
    so, what should i do to know the network card
    hopefully that u'll reply
    type iwconfig ,all network interfaces will show ,to use ethernet type dhclient eth0 or what ever interface your ethernet is on. For wifi to work you have to use wicd which is diabled by default type in /etc/init.d/wicd start then type update-rc.d wicd defaults this will start wicd at startup next time you have a problem be more specific or you may not get the help you are looking for.
    HP DV7
    8GB DDR3
    Core i7-720QM
    Nvidia GeForce GT 320M

    BT5-64bit x WIN7-64bit DualBoot

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO Manynick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    lol nvm...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •