Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Root password

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    22

    Default Root password

    Hi.I can't change root password.I have root rights.I make command "passwd".Type new password ,retype .No error message.But when i lock the session and i want to input password,it does not work with new password.But only with old password ,work.Where is the problem?


    I have installed on a usb stick from cd image.And i have looked in "etc/fstab" and my boot partition it is not there.And i guess that is with "ro" instead of "rw".But i can't find in "etc/fstab".This is my "etc/fstab" :



    /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=9945cb60-1e33-474b-9f95-83ccdb92e2ff / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /dev/sda6
    UUID=ed5bc842-4083-419d-a28c-be7579e2b1be none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/hda /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0


    And this are my partitions (usb)


    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 5 40131 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda2 6 1933 15486660 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 6 1846 14787801 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 1847 1933 698796 82 Linux swap / Solaris



    "sda5" is one of my usb partition.So mister xorred , i am not stupid like you wanna say.Thing again if you wannna help someone.

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    356

    Default

    "passwd root" is the problem. Or passwd username, for that matter. Or user stupi...ooops... error.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    have you tried
    sudo passwd root

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eek3hmm View Post
    have you tried
    sudo passwd root
    Running sudo as root doesn't really do anything.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  5. #5
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Running sudo as root doesn't really do anything.
    He is actually right. The proper way to install it is to use the installer and create a user. After the install is done, log in and the first thing you do is "sudo passwd root". You will be asked first for the users password and then you will enter the root password twice. log out and log back in as root.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    He is actually right. The proper way to install it is to use the installer and create a user. After the install is done, log in and the first thing you do is "sudo passwd root". You will be asked first for the users password and then you will enter the root password twice. log out and log back in as root.
    Thanks a lot
    This is very helpful

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •