Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: wicd failed

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    its a quick shot.. but.. do you have X up allready ?

    if u try to start wicd from console without startx before you will get a fail.
    so:
    1) @: startx
    2) fire up a terminal and write: " sudo start-network" and then try to start wicd on the Kmenu or also on terminal by "/etc/init.d/wicd start"

  2. #12
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manco1911 View Post
    its a quick shot.. but.. do you have X up allready ?
    No it's a late shot, a month late.
    [/quote]
    if u try to start wicd from console without startx before you will get a fail.[/quote] Not true one can the x server and wicd have nothing to do with one another really.
    1) @: startx
    2) fire up a terminal and write: " sudo start-network" and then try to start wicd on the Kmenu or also on terminal by "/etc/init.d/wicd start"
    No it would be service wicd start in this case, service networking start.
    /etc/init.d/networking or wicd will work as well. Of course with the above sudo can be used, in front of the command.
    Your syntax is not correct above. See also here
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO imported_h4x0r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    18

    Default

    have u problems with WEP or WPA encrypted networks? i got only problems with WEP networks. in my case it seems, that wicd dont give the correct or any device to dhclient. see my post: http://forums.remote-exploit.org/bac...blem-wicd.html
    my is not the problem to start wicd. my problem is, that wicd dont connect to WEP-ones.
    nur weil du paranoid bist, heisst das nicht, dass du nicht verfolgt wirst ;!)
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    if u r paranoid, it's not a indicate, that u will not be traced ;!)

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by archangel.amael View Post
    No it's a late shot, a month late.
    if u try to start wicd from console without startx before you will get a fail.[/quote] Not true one can the x server and wicd have nothing to do with one another really.

    No it would be service wicd start in this case, service networking start.
    /etc/init.d/networking or wicd will work as well. Of course with the above sudo can be used, in front of the command.
    Your syntax is not correct above. See also here [/QUOTE]

    ok, sorry for my mistake.
    Im pretty new on linux and bt.. just trying to help..
    i only posted from my short expirience. my bad

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I just type wicd in the run thingy, then open from menu>internet. woohoo

    Prefs for your card, refresh, and your off.......

    conflickR

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •