Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: wicd failed

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default wicd failed

    hi guys
    i have tried bt4 on live cd it works fine but after the installation
    i traied the following :
    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    but it failed to start ?
    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Thousands of ideas but too many to write all of them down.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    76

    Default

    lol.


    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    then click on wicd.

    Make sure your root! Set up a root password.

    ..an idea

  4. #4
    Senior Member orange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    134

    Default

    You most likely have issues with wicd-client and not wicd itself. As ecsployt already mentioned, please run "/etc/init.d/wicd start", then start wicd-client from the KDE menu. To overcome this "procedure" (assumed you're running a persistent install), I'd recommend you to autostart wicd by running "update-rc.d wicd defaults" once, then reboot and wicd-client will autostart next time you log into KDE.

  5. #5
    Member Nagual's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    289

    Default

    did you try with "sudo"

    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/wicd start

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I had the exact same problem (just runnin from the CD), but i managed to fix it

    when i start i run: /etc/init.d/networking start
    dont know if that is necessary when it is installed

    click K Menu (start menu - dont know what to call it )
    System -> User and Groups -> select your user (i only got root) -> Properties ->
    User privileges
    Then check: Connect to wireless and ethernet networks

    Thats is what I did, and it is working for me now

    \\Batnas

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Make sure your root! Set up a root password.
    this was the problem. i have tried root it works fine
    thnx all of u

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    what's the error msg ?

  9. #9
    Junior Member renn3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    37

    Default

    I had same problem, but than I did as or4n9e say, and now works fine.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I do:

    /etc/init.d/wicd start

    an then

    /usr/bin/wicd-client &

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •