Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: backtrack 4 on dvd-rw?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default backtrack 4 on dvd-rw?

    Hey guys,

    I've burned the prefinal iso on a dvd-rewritable.. But when i change things on it. it doesn't save to the dvd.. the dvd is still open (I unclicked closing the cd in nero).

    thanks in advance!

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sdkee View Post
    Hey guys,

    I've burned the prefinal iso on a dvd-rewritable.. But when i change things on it. it doesn't save to the dvd.. the dvd is still open (I unclicked closing the cd in nero).

    thanks in advance!
    i can see by this question that this is your first time using linux. i suggest you stop using backtrack until you atleast know the basics of linux. backtrack isnt a newbies OS. what are you trying to hack anyways?
    Until they become conscious they will never rebel, and until after they have rebelled they cannot become conscious...

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sdkee View Post
    Hey guys,

    I've burned the prefinal iso on a dvd-rewritable.. But when i change things on it. it doesn't save to the dvd.. the dvd is still open (I unclicked closing the cd in nero).

    thanks in advance!
    Never thought this question would be asked.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Well considering the OP is talking about using a rw dvd I believe he is wanting to use it as his save changes partition as well.
    This is probably not going to happen OP
    See also Live CD - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    Member floyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    231

    Default

    dude you can not write something on the disk meanwhile you are running a OS from it...
    Auswaertsspiel

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    The Morphix and Puppy live disks have this ability. They can get away with it because they run entirely from ram, you can pull the disk out once they are booted. Backtrack is too big to do this.

    Puppy multi-session live-cd

    I can't find the info for morphix, sorry.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  7. #7
    Member floyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    The Morphix and Puppy live disks have this ability. They can get away with it because they run entirely from ram, you can pull the disk out once they are booted. Backtrack is too big to do this.

    Puppy multi-session live-cd

    I can't find the info for morphix, sorry.
    nice, didn't know that and sounds reasonable
    Auswaertsspiel

  8. #8
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by floyd View Post
    nice, didn't know that and sounds reasonable
    It's kinda neat, when it works. When I used it last, dvd burners weren't as cheap as they are now, so not all machines had one.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SuspectZero View Post
    i can see by this question that this is your first time using linux. i suggest you stop using backtrack until you atleast know the basics of linux. backtrack isnt a newbies OS. what are you trying to hack anyways?

    it's my first time using backtrack 4. I'm used with backtrack 3 . I just wanted it to know if it's possible. I tried, I failed, life goes on.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sdkee View Post
    I tried, I failed, life goes on.
    But did you learn anything from it? That is the question.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •