Thread: Best Wireless Card & Antenna setup?

Just burned his ISO

Lightbulb Best Wireless Card & Antenna setup?

Ok, basically i need to buy a PCMCIA wirless card (with external antenna support) and antenna, and was wondering which card/ antenna combo is best. I'm relatively new to backtrack but im not completely incompetent. Price isnt so much a problem, i just want it to work with little or ideally no tinkering...

Can i ask why you would want to go with a PCMCIA card?

You might want to search as there are about 200 other people who have asked the same thing.

Anyways welcome and have a pleasant stay.
    Using backtrack for the first time is like being 10 years old again with the keys to a Ferrari.

Maybe he means 32bit Cardbus, rather than actually the 16bit pcmcia?

If you really do mean pcmcia, then you're going to be stuck with 11b cards only

Many people find cards to be preferable to USB solutions because they don't "dangle" around so much
    On the down-side, there probably aren't so many cards with ext antenna connectors, compared to USB devices with ext antenna connectors?
    (Especially not "newer" cards/chipsets anyway)

Anyway, most people seem to just settle for the USB 500mw Alfa these days.

Where cards are concerned, Atheros chipsets are still the way to go usually, but like I said, there aren't so many with ext anntenna connectors.

There are many, many posts around here discussing the merits and pitfalls of various wifi devices

Quote Originally Posted by Re@lity View Post
    Maybe he means 32bit Cardbus, rather than actually the 16bit pcmcia?

If you really do mean pcmcia, then you're going to be stuck with 11b cards only
    Im not going to come out and say your wrong about those statements, but i will say i HIGHLY disagree, as i have seen plenty G pcmcia cards. I also know that as of 97 almost every computer runs a 32bit bus.