Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Wireless network adaptor on HP EliteBook 6930p

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Question Wireless network adaptor on HP EliteBook 6930p

    Hey guys,

    first, just to tell you guys, I' ve to disable acpi, using the parameter
    Code:
    acpi=off
    at start up to get BT 4 running!

    Then when the system runs I type in
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    and I get 2 interfaces: eth0, and lo... But I don't get anything what looks like a wireless interface! Also, if I type in
    Code:
    iwconfig
    I don't see any device.

    What can I do to enable my wireless device?
    It works without any issues with Ubuntu. So why isn't it with BT 4?


    Thanks for your help and advices in advance.

    mr_psie

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_psie View Post
    Hey guys,
    What can I do to enable my wireless device?
    It works without any issues with Ubuntu. So why isn't it with BT 4?
    First off it is because bt4 is not ubuntu, second what type of card do you have? Second did you do /etc/init.d/networking start ??
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hey archangel.amael,

    thanks for your fast reply. First, I am not sure which card or cipset I have on my wireless card as it is an internal one. The only thing I know is from "lspci"
    Code:
    02:00.0 Network conroller: Bradcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11 b/g (rev01)
    So, I think it is a Broadcom Cipset. Is that correct? Or is it just the manufacture of the card using an other cipset? If so, how can I figure out what cipset my card has?
    Second, yes I tried \etc\init.d\networking start, but it is just trying to establish a wired connection via eth0!
    Any ideas?

    Tanks guys

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_psie View Post
    Hey archangel.amael,
    Code:
    02:00.0 Network conroller: Bradcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11 b/g (rev01)
    So, I think it is a Broadcom Cipset. Is that correct?
    Tanks guys
    Looks like it to me. Now for getting it to work might be a different story.
    I know that a lot of people do not have luck with broadcom type cards.
    Just look around here with your make and model and you will find more information. There is a huge thread I believe on the card.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •