Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Conky and DNS

  1. #1
    Member imported_vvpalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    442

    Default Conky and DNS

    So the other day i was tooling around and i fired up wireshark. I had FF open and all of a suddon i noticed a MASSIVE amount of dns requests coming through. Thinking it was some random prob or i was getting spoofed i shut everything down and did a full audit of my network. The next day the same thing happened again .. eventually i connected the dots and found the prob to be conky.

    It only happens when FF is open and im not sure if it does it with 3.0.5 as im on 3.0.10 ... but ya fire it up and see for yourself.
    Using backtrack for the first time is like being 10 years old again with the keys to a Ferrari.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vvpalin View Post
    So the other day i was tooling around and i fired up wireshark. I had FF open and all of a suddon i noticed a MASSIVE amount of dns requests coming through. Thinking it was some random prob or i was getting spoofed i shut everything down and did a full audit of my network. The next day the same thing happened again .. eventually i connected the dots and found the prob to be conky.

    It only happens when FF is open and im not sure if it does it with 3.0.5 as im on 3.0.10 ... but ya fire it up and see for yourself.
    So what did conky do ?
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Member imported_vvpalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    442

    Default

    It trys resolving all the open links over and over again. I guess its not really a bug persay but it can be confusing as hell if your doing something where you need to watch the packets.

    Just thought i'd let everyone know if there experiencing the same prob.
    Using backtrack for the first time is like being 10 years old again with the keys to a Ferrari.

  4. #4
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vvpalin View Post
    It trys resolving all the open links over and over again. I guess its not really a bug persay but it can be confusing as hell if your doing something where you need to watch the packets.

    Just thought i'd let everyone know if there experiencing the same prob.
    Sounds like you have something funky occurring in your conky configuration. I've used it on several machines here and never noticed such activity.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    Sounds like you have something funky occurring in your conky configuration. I've used it on several machines here and never noticed such activity.
    That exactly why I asked him about it.

    I have never had a problem other than user error with conky
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  6. #6
    Member imported_vvpalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    442

    Default

    The only thing im thinking is that maybe its the way i updated firefox.

    Ill try and reproduce the error tonight on a fresh install and see what happens.
    Using backtrack for the first time is like being 10 years old again with the keys to a Ferrari.

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    I'm afraid to use Conky coz it reminds me of that puppet Bubbles had in Trailer Park Boys... (the puppet's name was Conky)
    Ask questions on the open forums, that way everybody benefits from the solution, and everybody can be corrected when they make mistakes. Don't send me private messages asking questions that should be asked on the open forums, I won't respond. I decline all "Friend Requests".

  8. #8
    Member imported_vvpalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Yes it does happen on a fresh install.

    Boot from the cd, open conky, then open firefox and browse around, open wireshark and just let the page hover. you will see a bunch of DNS requests coming through.

    I dont think its my adapter because it happens with both my ALFA and my brodcom internal.
    Using backtrack for the first time is like being 10 years old again with the keys to a Ferrari.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •