Thread: Wireless HELP - Compelete Noob

Just burned his ISO

Exclamation Wireless HELP - Compelete Noob

I have a Realtek RTL81017S Built in wireless card - Computer : Gatway (VISTA) Model : m-1629 System : 32 bit. When ever I run BT4 i can't get my wireless card to work. I have looked around at different websites and it is no help. Im pretty new at BT4 and I know little commands and about them. My card that I have work really well when I run my pc. Any suggestions?

How the hell do u get it to work

Quote Originally Posted by Danger4121 View Post
    I have a Realtek RTL81017S Built in wireless card - Computer : Gatway (VISTA) Model : m-1629 System : 32 bit. When ever I run BT4 i can't get my wireless card to work. I have looked around at different websites and it is no help. Im pretty new at BT4 and I know little commands and about them. My card that I have work really well when I run my pc. Any suggestions?

How the hell do u get it to work
    when in doubt; google-fu off your model number, to then find the "failing" component part number, to then search for patches and driver updates.

think of it as somewhat like being on "gilligan's island", but with internet access. figure out how to make it work with very little/no help. no available replacement parts and no one that really cares you've become marooned after a four hour tour.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ux/+bug/246141

Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by clone View Post
    think of it as somewhat like being on "gilligan's island", but with internet access. figure out how to make it work with very little/no help. no available replacement parts and no one that really cares you've become marooned after a four hour tour.
    Not sure if it will help the OP, but I do like the analogy there.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki