Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: default root password?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default default root password?

    Hi,

    Sorry... I've installed BT4 on a VM, and stuck at bt login.
    What is the default password for root? I've searched the forums (but searching for 'default password' is a bit of a needle)

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    username: root
    password: toor

  3. #3
    Member cr1spyj0nes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    164

    Default

    you have got to be kidding,
    I would rather be hated for what i am,
    Then loved for what i am not.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cr1spyj0nes View Post
    you have got to be kidding,
    You have been here since September, I know it's not the first time you have seen this.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by celtech View Post
    Hi,

    Sorry... I've installed BT4 on a VM, and stuck at bt login.
    What is the default password for root? I've searched the forums (but searching for 'default password' is a bit of a needle)
    Good thing it's not displayed somewhere obvious like the banner of the login screen......oh wait
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  6. #6
    Member cr1spyj0nes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    164

    Default

    in bt4 really?
    I would rather be hated for what i am,
    Then loved for what i am not.

  7. #7
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cr1spyj0nes View Post
    in bt4 really?
    Ya that's what I get for being unable to absorb details before drinking my morning coffee
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  8. #8
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    Ya that's what I get for being unable to absorb details before drinking my morning coffee
    Maybe they should put that back in. Along with the NetworkManager setting.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    107

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by celtech View Post
    Hi,

    Sorry... I've installed BT4 on a VM, and stuck at bt login.
    What is the default password for root? I've searched the forums (but searching for 'default password' is a bit of a needle)

    Thanks
    How did you install BT4 without a root password?

    please, tell us this is a joke!
    Great minds have purposes, others have wishes

  10. #10
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erhardm View Post
    How did you install BT4 without a root password?

    please, tell us this is a joke!
    Downloaded the vm from the site and "installed"(copied) it to his vm folder.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •