Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Need Help using Fluxbox instead of kdew

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default Need Help using Fluxbox instead of kdew

    Hey guys could you pls tell me how i can get Fluxbox to work with Bt4?
    the "startfluxbox" command displays
    Code:
     Error couldnīt connect to X server
    I dont realy know how to deal with it But iīd strongly prefer using Fluxbox because iīl need to use my Bt4 also on pcīs with low hardware (and i dont like kde either...)
    thanks for helping me
    mfg Azrial

    @edit: if you just know how to enable any of those ligthwieght window managers (fluxbox, icewm, jwm....) you can also say it. I like all of them. With a litle configuration evry system is beautifull (exeptes "LoseDown" )

    @edit2: i spelled kde false... sry for that

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azrial View Post
    Code:
     Error couldnīt connect to X server
    There's your error.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    whoaaa your a Genius, a real Archangel like its written in your name. How fast you knew that the error is in the line which begins with "Error"... your amazing guy ...


    no for real now... that doesnt realy help me.
    Moreover iīd like to hear how to solve the Error (the one in the line which beginns with error... )

    sry if you missunderstood me somehow... like i said before: im just using school english so dont blame me but my teachers

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azrial View Post
    whoaaa your a Genius, a real Archangel like its written in your name. How fast you knew that the error is in the line which begins with "Error"... your amazing guy ...
    no for real now... that doesnt realy help me.
    Moreover iīd like to hear how to solve the Error (the one in the line which beginns with error... )
    sry if you missunderstood me somehow... like i said before: im just using school english so dont blame me but my teachers
    Neither does half the words you put up here but you still expect us to fix it for you.
    Why don't you tell us what hardware you are using especially in the graphics dept. As well as what you xorg.conf looks like. It might even be relevant to add in memory and proc specs as well.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Because i think that my problem is not based on hardware or driver depencies, but on not-knowing enough about those things. I think so because i already tried tons of distris, just to try them out and looking how they look..., and my pc never made an Error. On top i cant start any other window manager instead of kde (startx) So i think its just about giving the right order to my pc.
    what are the right commands for starting those window managers? what do i have to do?

    (hope i didnt bother you with that lame answer amael)

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    echo "exec startfluxbox" > ~/.xinitrc
    startx

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    is that the same for other window managers like jwm?
    Code:
     echo exec startjwm
    or something like this

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Azrial View Post
    Because i think that my problem is not based on hardware or driver depencies, but on not-knowing enough about those things.
    Then you might wanna try researching it a bit.


    what are the right commands for starting those window managers? what do i have to do?
    startx = kde bt-4crystal = the crystal fvwm


    (hope i didnt bother you with that lame answer amael)
    No your not bothering me at all really.

    is that the same for other window managers like jwm?
    Code:
     echo exec startjwm
    or something like this
    This command changes the "exec" to the window manager to use for startx
    Which is really just another command that invokes the ".xinitrc" what this does is tell the x server to read xinitrc and execute the command after exec
    in a vanilla bt4 this would be the K Desktop Environment.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •