Installing Backtrack 4 beta to virtual disk (disc) on Microsoft Virtual Machine (Virtual PC).

I don't know if this is going to be relevant for anyone, but after hours of sweating I thought I'd at least share my experience setting up BT4b on MS VPC.

First, I assume you have already installed Virtual PC and understand the in's and out's of it.

Secondly my setup so you can compare with your own.

MB: ABIT (A-N68SV)
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 Dualcore 5600+ (2.9ghz)
On-Board Chipset: Nvidia 7025, nForce 630a
PCI-X: Radeon X1650 (Swanky hey, :-( lol)
Memory: 2GB
HDD: 150GB Sata

MS-VPC: 2007
Version: 6.0.156.0

Note: my onboard graphics are disabled, I'm using only the Radeon.

As I have never done this before my first task was to at least get BT4b running from the cd and into the kde. I decided to mount the ISO in Windows using Magic Disc and run from their.

These steps got the live cd running in graphical mode:

Create a new VM in VPC.
Create a FIXED SIZED virtual disk (I chose a size of 2GB), We'll need 4GB later though so set that now if you want!!
I allocated 512MB of MEMORY, We'll need 1024MB later, see further below for any error details in doing this!!
Set the display mode to use "GUEST OS RESOLUTION"
I left the HARDWARE VIRTUALIZATION as DISABLED

Start the VM and select the "CD" option ensuring the disk drive you have BT4b on is being used by the VM, if it isn't then select "Use Physical Drive: x" from the "CD" menu.

Ok, so BackTrack booted up and I got the login screen "root" and "toor" got me to the shell. I typed "startx" to run graphics mode. It wasn't having it.
I got a different error depending where I looked "Screeninit Failed...." etc. There is nothing initially in the xorg.conf file which I didn't realise. So I tried fixvesa and fixvmware. Neither helped.

After googling (many dead ends) it turned out to be a section named "Files" in the xorg.conf file after doing fixvesa. So at the shell:

# fixvesa
# nano /etc/X11/xconf.org