Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Cant connect to any networks

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hello guys,

    I know that my message is too short to give you a good idea about the network problem.
    But I have not the possibility to give you more information because I am not at my office for one week.
    My report has been post after that I was behind the computer who has the problem.
    Let me some little time to perform a lot of testing and I will expose the problem in details.

    Regards,
    Laurent

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I know this thread is old, but maybe to clarify what the issue is:

    After entering: ifconfig eth0 up
    Also tried: /etc/init.d/networking start

    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    Listening on LPF/eth0/**:**:**:**:**:**
    Sending on LPF/eth0/**:**:**:**:**:**
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 19
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    No DHCPOFFERS received
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping


    I'm running a little Acer Aspire One with a Atheros wifi card (the card used to work with BT3 USB)

    Now, I'm trying to learn so be brutal if need be, but this all means that basically BT4 doesn't see my card? I ran ifconfig first and it just took me back to a command line, so that worked I assume (maybe). I'll be honest and admit I don't fully understand any of this, but is DHCP needed to connect to a network? Like I said, I never had this issue with BT3, but no problems means no learning how to fix them. Any advise?

  3. #13
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Yeah, since you don't have any Linux experience you should go with Ubuntu at first to learn. It won't do you any good to jump directly into Backtrack and be distracted by all the tools. It is hard if you don't know the Linux basics to use the tools provided along with BT.

    Let me ask you for which reason you want to use BT.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  4. #14
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ProzacJihad View Post
    I know this thread is old, but maybe to clarify what the issue is:

    After entering: ifconfig eth0 up
    Also tried: /etc/init.d/networking start

    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    Listening on LPF/eth0/**:**:**:**:**:**
    Sending on LPF/eth0/**:**:**:**:**:**
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 19
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    No DHCPOFFERS received
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping


    I'm running a little Acer Aspire One with a Atheros wifi card (the card used to work with BT3 USB)

    Now, I'm trying to learn so be brutal if need be, but this all means that basically BT4 doesn't see my card? I ran ifconfig first and it just took me back to a command line, so that worked I assume (maybe). I'll be honest and admit I don't fully understand any of this, but is DHCP needed to connect to a network? Like I said, I never had this issue with BT3, but no problems means no learning how to fix them. Any advise?
    Generally speaking using /etc/init.d/networking start should be the first command. First check to see that the kernel is recognizing your card,(since it does not appear to be doing so) this can be done with either a ifconfig (man for more info) or either lspci, lsusb, depending on the card type, pci or usb. The error message above on no dhcp offers simply means that there was no address given by the dhcp service and as such it went to sleep and will try again in a set amount of time. DHCP is not necessary depending on your network setup in order to access the internet. You might want to determine this before you try further. Then determine if the card is recognized or not.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #15
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ProzacJihad View Post
    I know this thread is old, but maybe to clarify what the issue is:

    After entering: ifconfig eth0 up
    Also tried: /etc/init.d/networking start

    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    Listening on LPF/eth0/**:**:**:**:**:**
    Sending on LPF/eth0/**:**:**:**:**:**
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 19
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    No DHCPOFFERS received
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping


    I'm running a little Acer Aspire One with a Atheros wifi card (the card used to work with BT3 USB)

    Now, I'm trying to learn so be brutal if need be, but this all means that basically BT4 doesn't see my card? I ran ifconfig first and it just took me back to a command line, so that worked I assume (maybe). I'll be honest and admit I don't fully understand any of this, but is DHCP needed to connect to a network? Like I said, I never had this issue with BT3, but no problems means no learning how to fix them. Any advise?
    Ok, before we go anywhere else with this thread, there is a simple reason for it not working.

    Just try to understand the part's I've marked for you and see where the problem lies. It is pretty obvious.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  6. #16
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    Ok, before we go anywhere else with this thread, there is a simple reason for it not working.

    Just try to understand the part's I've marked for you and see where the problem lies. It is pretty obvious.
    I seen it, I just hope the OP will see the commands I listed and learn that the device interface he is using eth0 will never work.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2

    Smile wireless assistant

    where is the menu of wireless assistant on backtrack 4?.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •