Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Internet in Backtrack 4

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Internet in Backtrack 4

    So, I'm trying to get my internet to start working/start networking. I read the tut called How to Start Networking in Backtrack by pureh@te but it was both confusing and unproductive. I know I'm supposed to type in /etc/init.d/networking start
    to start and then do some other stuff, but when I did this all I got were a bunch of errors saying no such device existed, I can only assume they mean my wireless card. My wireless card, for some reason, wont turn on when I'm running Backtrack 4 off of my usb, it works fine while running windows. I also couldn't get the internet to work when I plugged in an ethernet chord

    So I have a few questions. How do I get my wireless card to turn on? How do I get my ethernet to work? And once I've got all that done, how can I get my internet to work?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Internet in Backtrack 4

    Have you tried ifconfig [name of your card - ath0 etc] up. ath0 is seen as wlan0 in BT4-FINAL l believe.
    ifconfig ath0 up

    Usually works for me.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Internet in Backtrack 4

    Thanks, for the tip. I got my ethernet to work, so I'm good there. Ill try your advice, thanks.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Wireless

    Do as what i do.

    /etc/init.d/wicd start
    Starting Network connection manager: wicd.


    /usr/bin/start-network

    Starting Network connection manager: wicd.

    /usr/bin/wicd-client on

    Loading...
    Attempting to connect tray to daemon...
    Success.
    Done.

    And check for the task bar, where new icon appears.
    That shows all Wireless Access points Available

  5. #5
    Junior Member jnt13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Internet in Backtrack 4

    check your dmesg aswell. You should see it start all you devices, and what name the system is giving them.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Internet in Backtrack 4

    Internet on BT4 works when the Service is startet. You can do it over "k menu" ("start" menu known from Win) or type this command in shell:

    sh -c "start-network"

    and after this you can start wicd-client and go online.

    This was definitely the way it worked on my system.

    good luck

Similar Threads

  1. No Internet on BackTrack 4
    By UnknownError in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 05:53 AM
  2. BackTrack 4 AWUS036H no internet
    By rashwan in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 10:26 AM
  3. cable internet help
    By tallet in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 06:10 PM
  4. Connect to Internet
    By aamir99 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 08:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •