Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lenovo S10e

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation Lenovo S10e

    Hi everyone,

    well after some tinkering I managed to install BT3 on my new S10e which shipped with XP and now dual boots. Also had to replace the supplied Wireless card with a Atheros AR5007 802.11g Mini PCI-E Wireless Card AR2425 which was very straight forward to physically install and worked within BT3

    My issue is with the graphics display. I can currently only select a resolution of 640 x 480. The graphics is an Intel 950 Graphics Medial Accelerator. Does anyone have any idea how to enable additional resolution settings? I think its something to do with the incorrect driver being installed but I'm not sure how to check this.

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    356

    Default

    check online for your laptop and xorg.conf settings. With enough google-fu, you will be eventually able to find the complete xorg.conf for your configuration...

  3. #3
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Did you try the Laptop HCL on the wiki? Your specific laptop might not be listed but you can likely find something with the same video card/display.

    http://backtrack.offensive-security....hp/HCL:Laptops
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5

    Wink Progress

    Well after some serious google-fu I manged to find a fix, however I done two things and I'm not sure what fixed it so here goes,

    1) I downloaded and lzm2dir the eee pc 901_net_gfx.lzm file, placed the lzm file in my root and lzm2dir

    Once I done this and restarted X I had a resolution of 1024x600 great, the only thing is on the S10 the resolution you need is 1024x576!!

    2) Found this xorg config and pasted it in

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Module section -- this section is used to specify
    # which dynamically loadable modules to load.
    # ************************************************** ********************
    #
    Section "Module"
    Load "ddc" #ddc probing of monitor
    Load "dbe"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "synaptics"

    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Files section. This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Files"


    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"

    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AIGLX" "false"
    # Option "Xinerama" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    # Option "XkbVariant" "" #added by me
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Configured Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Synaptics Touchpad"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
    Option "LeftEdge" "1400"
    Option "RightEdge" "5900"
    Option "TopEdge" "1400"
    Option "BottomEdge" "4500"
    Option "PalmDetect" "0"
    Option "SHMConfig" "true"
    Option "SendCoreEvents" "yes"
    Option "HorizScrollDelta" "0"
    Option "VertScrollDelta" "155"
    Option "RBCornerButton" "0"
    Option "RTCornerButton" "0"
    Option "TapButton2" "0"
    Option "MinSpeed" "0.095"
    Option "MaxSpeed" "0.38"
    Option "VertTwoFingerScroll" "1"
    Option "VertEdgeScroll" "0"
    Option "HorizEdgeScroll" "0"EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    Option "DPMS" "true"

    EndSection

    # Auto-generated by Archie mkxcfg


    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Card0"
    Driver "intel"
    VendorName "All"
    BoardName "All"
    #Option "AccelMethod" "EXA"
    Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"
    Option "DRI" "True"
    Option "NoDDC" "True"
    Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "True"
    Option "EnablePageFlip" "True"
    Option "RenderAccel" "True"
    Option "AccelMethod" "XAA"
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Card0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultColorDepth 24
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    #Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
    InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
    InputDevice "Synaptics Touchpad"
    EndSection


    Now I need to get the sound working

  5. #5
    Member imported_Deathray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    381

    Default

    Thanks for returning with the information that worked for you - the Lenovo s10e is really a sexy laptop, I might be getting one .. Did you get the model with 4 gb SSD + 160 gb harddrive or the one without the SSD?
    - Poul Wittig

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default S10e

    Hi there,

    I went for the 160GB HDD option. I also replaced the supplice mini-pc wireless card

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    This might help you with the sound.

    http://www.s10lenovo.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1106
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •