Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Auto Booting Options ?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16

    Default Auto Booting Options ?

    I have managed to install BT4 onto one of the partitions of my Acer one (have Mac OS and Win XP on it as well) and it works great except for one little thing that annoys me.

    When it boots it asks for the login and username , and then i have to type startx every time.

    The Acer one screen is a bit limited for the control panel and i dont see the bottom of the user manager sections and cant hit apply or ok , so i cant really get it to auto log in that way.

    What files do i need to nano in order to get this working so that it just boots in without me having to enter :
    root
    toor
    startx

    every time it boots ?

    Thanks in advance guys and i hope someone can help me with this.

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidFromBigD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DjTaz View Post
    I have managed to install BT4 onto one of the partitions of my Acer one (have Mac OS and Win XP on it as well) and it works great except for one little thing that annoys me.

    When it boots it asks for the login and username , and then i have to type startx every time.

    The Acer one screen is a bit limited for the control panel and i dont see the bottom of the user manager sections and cant hit apply or ok , so i cant really get it to auto log in that way.

    What files do i need to nano in order to get this working so that it just boots in without me having to enter :
    root
    toor
    startx

    every time it boots ?

    Thanks in advance guys and i hope someone can help me with this.
    Care to go back to BT3?
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...ight=autologin

    If you stick to BT4, then I suggest you search beyond these forums. It's a debian distro now, and many such questions can be answered elsewhere.

    Keep searching...

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DjTaz View Post
    What files do i need to nano in order to get this working so that it just boots in without me having to enter :
    root
    toor
    startx
    Might wanna have a look at minigetty or rungetty packages.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thanks guys - and no i want to stay on BT4 , dont really want to go back to 3 as i have 4 working nicely other than the login part and i know its possible to get going , i just need a point in the right direction.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thanks for the pointers archangel

    Got it going - heres what i did :
    opened a terminal and typed
    apt-get install rungetty

    Then nano /etc/event.d/tty1 and edited the last line
    Code:
    #exec /sbin/getty 38400 tty1
    exec /sbin/rungetty tty1 --autologin root
    then nano /root/.bash_profile
    Code:
     startx

    now it autologs in and boots by itself. The pointers were appreciated Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    No problem glad you got it working and it seems rather easy for others who wish to do the same.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    thanks for the tip

    works fine!

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    After searching for an eternity I finally stumbled on this post, it details the exact same problem I have - after installing BT3 onto my hard disk I now have to enter root,toor & startx.

    tried the apt-get install rungetty command and i get the response 'command not found'


    I believe this must be specific to bt4 - is there an equivalent fix for bt3 ?

    TIA.

  9. #9
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wallacengrommet View Post
    After searching for an eternity I finally stumbled on this post, it details the exact same problem I have - after installing BT3 onto my hard disk I now have to enter root,toor & startx.

    tried the apt-get install rungetty command and i get the response 'command not found'


    I believe this must be specific to bt4 - is there an equivalent fix for bt3 ?

    TIA.
    Backtrack3 is slackware based, so no apt. Look for slackware installs for rungetty.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wallacengrommet View Post
    I believe this must be specific to bt4 - is there an equivalent fix for bt3 ?
    TIA.
    Yes it is. Instead you have slapt-get (also slackpkg) for bt3 but there is no dependency resolution. It would be best to download from source and compile as per the application's instructions.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •