Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: safe-upgrade buggy

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    22

    Post safe-upgrade buggy

    Hi dudes,

    I tried to make a safe-upgrade on a friend's pc where i had intalled BT4 on hard disk. It dowloaded about 100M. First i had activated almost all repositories, but had not fixed the gpg issue at this moment.
    Finally i ended up no more being able to open any new applications when finished, even konsole, but aireplay-ng was still running (i was using it at the same moment)
    I rebooted and..had by default immediately the fmwm desktop! Nothing else left it seems.
    buggy?

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Looks like you are playing around with some stuff you shouldn't maybe. It is known that an update breaks KDE.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Hopefully you weren't trying to update over wifi......


    Oh, there's no such thing as a "safe update"....
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  4. #4
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Well there is exactly one in life:

    death. But well basically yeah, you are right.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Hopefully you weren't trying to update over wifi......


    Oh, there's no such thing as a "safe update"....
    well i did it over wif man!
    Any particular issue doing it over wifi compare to doing it over wire?

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nightowl View Post
    well i did it over wif man!
    Any particular issue doing it over wifi compare to doing it over wire?
    Well the apt-get upgrade is partially broken with the kde libs problem Muts talks about on his blog. Then you were screwing around with airplay-ng at the same time. That just screams "I have no freaking idea what I'm doing". Think of it as doing an oil and filter change while the engine is running. Probably not going to turn out well.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default

    All right sure.

    But if i just do the same with for instance my kubuntu box, everything will run fine i guess.

    So BT4 beta is buggy, but it is a beta version of course, so no surprise after all, we are all aware of that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •