Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: GNOME Interface

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default GNOME Interface

    Hi All ,

    My suggestion is to about gnome interface ... it would be great if the backtrack 4 wil be released with Gnome interface ...or just a version that include gnome instead kde .... since it's based on debian and debian come with GNOME interface so it's looks reasonable ....

    h t t p :// gnome.org

    thanks by advence

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22

    Default

    I would love to see this as well.

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    660

    Default

    A Bash shell is the only interface you need.

    What do you have against KDE anyways?

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Hate to say it but this is probably not going to happen. Your best of doing something like this your self.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default reconstructor?

    I know there is a program called reconstructor that customizes ubuntu live cd iso's, but it doesnt work on backtrack ver well (already tried) is there a program that can edit the live iso for backtrack 4? i really want, ney, need, gnome instead of kde, and since i highly doubt it will be released by remote-exploit, would like to make itmyself. anybody know of any programs like this that are compatible with backtrack 4?

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ansabhailte View Post
    I know there is a program called reconstructor that customizes ubuntu live cd iso's, but it doesnt work on backtrack ver well (already tried) is there a program that can edit the live iso for backtrack 4? i really want, ney, need, gnome instead of kde, and since i highly doubt it will be released by remote-exploit, would like to make itmyself. anybody know of any programs like this that are compatible with backtrack 4?
    Why not just do a real install then install gnome?
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Why not just do a real install then install gnome?
    How can he be a leet hax0r with kde? I mean running autoscan and zenmap is not kewl with kde.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  8. #8

    Default

    why not install gnome wm, install gdm or kdm and then get a menu converter to convert from kmenus to gnome menus :S
    Until they become conscious they will never rebel, and until after they have rebelled they cannot become conscious...

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default how?

    I found a script (forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=20795) (i think the url is right lol) on how to install BT4 to the hard drive. i have done that. however, i dont know the best way to uninstall kde, install gnome, and still have everything work ok. (also i would like grub instead of lilo.) could somebody please tell me how? konsole commands would be nice lol

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    Hate to say it but this is probably not going to happen. Your best of doing something like this your self.

    You got the best quote right above your posts here.
    That would also apply to your thread on the subject here
    Not trying to be an a$$ but as you can tell from your own experiments it's not that easy to do. As such if you do get it all to work then you could probably put up a tutorial for others to follow and could be like the hero of the day or something.
    We might be able to help out with specific issues but then again it may be a crap shoot.
    Especially with such command line driven tools anyway the desktop manager should really not even be a focus.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •