Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: VLC - possible in BT4?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default VLC - possible in BT4?

    Hello guys.

    The reason why I'm not using Backtrack as my primary OS is because I can't seem to find a good video player for it. Is it possible to use VLC on Backtrack? If not, is there any equivalent software you can recommend?

    /gEEEk

  2. #2
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Just use BT4 and run the command:

    apt-get install mplayer
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Or even

    Code:
    apt-get install vlc
    =P

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO asimarunava's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thax a lot now i can listen music while working........................

    how to uninstall vlc then

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    apt-get autoremove vlc

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    OMG!

    Epic thanks..

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gEEEk View Post
    OMG!

    Epic thanks..


    apt-get install secure-delete
    cd /
    srm -rz /pentest
    apt-get install ubuntu-games

    it's humor...

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO imported_Blaguvest's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    hi all sorry my english bad

    vlc no work ? I install apt-get install vlc after run vlc no work

    VLC is not supposed to be run as root. Sorry.
    If you need to use real-time priorities and/or privileged TCP ports
    you can use vlc-wrapper (make sure it is Set-UID root first and
    cannot be run by non-trusted users first).

  9. #9

    Default

    create a new nonroot account and use that. you shouldnt be using root in linux anywayz
    Until they become conscious they will never rebel, and until after they have rebelled they cannot become conscious...

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SuspectZero View Post
    create a new nonroot account and use that. you shouldnt be using root in linux anywayz
    Yes, that would solve the problem. But most of the applications need to be run as root or with root privileges. Its easier to keep the amount of commands down without having to type in sudo all the time. VLC needs to be recompiled to allow root access.

    I've heard about vlc-wrapper before but I've never used it. Mplayer seems to do a great job for most of my needs.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •