Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: My card won't stay on it's channel and...

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    31

    Default My card won't stay on it's channel and...

    For some reason my card won't stay on the channel I tell it to when I try and crack wep.
    My card is a Alfa AWUS036E

    Like I will do:
    Code:
    airmon-ng start wlan0 11
    Then I will do
    Code:
    aireplay-ng -1 0 -a *bssid of ap* -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 -e *ESSID* wlan0
    and I will get
    Waiting for beacon frame (BSSID*bssid*) on channel (random channel number)
    Wlan0 is on channel 3, but the AP uses channel 11
    Now if I repeat the last command wlan0 will be on a different channel, and it will change everytime I repeat it.

    Also, if I do:
    Code:
    airodump-ng wlan0
    The channel that shows up will be changing.

    So what am I doing wrong?

    Question 2

    Also when I do:
    Code:
    airmon-ng start wlan0 11
    It will say "monitor mode enabled on mon0"
    Then when I do:
    Code:
    iwconfig
    It will show up a wlan0 and a mon0, wlan0 will be in Managed mode and mon0 will be in monitor.

    So when I do a command like
    Code:
    aireplay-ng -1 0 -a *bssid of ap* -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 -e *ESSID* wlan0
    Would I replace wlan0 with mon0?


    Hope this all makes sense, thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    190

    Default

    yes replace wlan0 with mon0
    also, to shutdown monitor mode and to continue on with managed mode do

    airmon-ng stop mon0

    you may have to reload the driver if managed mode acts weird, like giving you operation not supported messages.

  3. #3
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by drakoth777 View Post
    yes replace mon0 with wlan0
    also, to shutdown monitor mode and to continue on with managed mode do

    airmon-ng stop mon0

    you may have to reload the driver if managed mode acts weird, like giving you operation not supported messages.
    do the reverse what cited in red color font.

    Before starting the wireless pen-testing,I would recommend to read wireless basics & documentation of aircrack-ng.believe me as this will save your time a lot & will save you to ask such very basic questions.first of all to set the channel use
    airodump-ng -c 11 -w <somefilname> --bssid <BSSID of your AP> mon0
    use mon0 all the time as its for monitoring & injection
    while wlan0 can be used as manage mode or to connect to AP & access internet.

    http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I was using that tutorial on the aircrack-ng site, But I guess I should read more of the site.

    Thanks for the help, I try that later and see if it works.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I'm actually using mon0 as interface but still aireplay-ng comes up with the following:

    Code:
    mon0 is on channel 11, but the AP uses channel 4
    I allready found a .diff patch for this problem at the aircrack-ng site but I don't know how to install it. Anyone who can help me out with the manual change of the channel or with the patch?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Try airmon-ng start mon0 -c 1
    or you can start first airodump on channel 1
    code: airodump-ng mon0 -c 1 and then start other codes.

    And test injection
    code: aireplay-ng -9 mon0

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    If you are using the mac80211 driver that is in bt4 by default you should

    airmon-ng start wlan0 01 --> 01 being the channel number that you would like your monitoring device on
    (note that the syntax with -c for airmon-ng is incorrect)

    this will create a mon0 interface that you need to use when starting airodump-ng

    If you revert to the old ieee80211 driver (witch I recommend) the same command will not create a new interface. So you just use wlan0 (or whatever iface your alfa is)

    (here's a guide for reverting the drivers - ther's a bunch of them here)

    @ Handsome-geek
    You cannot start monitoring with airodump-ng until you have prepared the interface you'll be monitoring on. When helping please use correct syntax and valid info - otherwise you're doing the opposite.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Sorry i was writing fast and thanks for correction.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •