Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Fatal Server Error: AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Arrow Fatal Server Error: AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0

    Hello folks,

    Im using VPC with the BT4 live iso and it works, but when i type startx ill get this (with alot of other text crap):

    Fatal Server Error: AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0

    Now i think this must be something with the video/driver but is there any way to get around this? (searched google to the bone but couldnt find any working solution)

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Please help me

  3. #3
    Junior Member digitalfriction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default

    have you tried the normal configurex and fix vesa commands? And have you setup your graphics driver properly?

  4. #4
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Best bet is to download the appropriate linux display driver for your Graphic card as it will autoconfigure the xconfig having better resolution & eye-candy graphic or alternatively make a backup of xorg.conf & then edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file and set manually the Resolution,Refresh rate,Bit-Depth(according to your display specifications).also try with
    fixvesa command(it will overwrite the original xorg.conf & the original one will be xorg.conf.backup)

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Thanks

    Thanks for the sugestions.

    I already switched to VMplayer but i still tryed the following in VPC:

    (i btw forgot too say that i cant get into KDE, so im stuck with the "how more silent you become, the more you can hear" screen)

    fixvesa: Fatal server error: No screens found
    fixvmware: Fatal server error: No screens found
    removed vga=0x317 text were you can edit the startup paremeters: Its gets black but again the same error.

    all a no-go, maybe a driver will work but im not so sure.

    Conclusion: Get vmplayer, get bt vm, get a USB adapter, done.

    Thanks for you help

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO Jerror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Don't do this:
    Quote Originally Posted by blueteeth View Post
    Thanks for the sugestions.

    Conclusion: Get vmplayer, get bt vm, get a USB adapter, done.

    Thanks for you help
    Grow a set, read the xorg.conf documentation and configure your xorg properly.

    There are many examples out there, I posted one for BT3 for the Averatec 3250HX on the old bt3 wiki using the S3/Unichrome drivers. It will work, you've just got to be a lil' linux savvy.
    The person who never quits, is the person never defeated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •