Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: wifi doesn't work

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default wifi doesn't work

    hay
    in BT4 beta, my Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    doesn't work
    iwconfig wifi0 say's
    wifi0 no wireless extensions

    can you help me?

  2. #2
    Junior Member Relentless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    59

    Default Try this:

    http://backtrack4.blogspot.com/2009/...o-release.html


    DHCP disabled by default on boot, you need to /etc/init.d/networking start

    Wireless networking in KDE can be started with KnetworkManager (/etc/init.d/NetworkManager)

    Various drivers can be found in /opt/drivers (various madwifi branches, video drivers for Nvidia and HP 2133's).

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO Jerror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    22

    Default I like it this way...

    Quote Originally Posted by MemesisZX View Post
    hay
    in BT4 beta, my Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    doesn't work
    iwconfig wifi0 say's
    wifi0 no wireless extensions

    can you help me?
    Your ath5k chipset works awesome with bt4 including injection.
    Adding the network start to your boot just makes your boot time longer and might register your eeepc to a network before you wish it to be registered.

    Not having the network on at start up is better for wireless security assessments IMHO.

    To get things rolling just do:

    ifconfig ath0 up

    iwconfig ath0 essid mynetworkname ( this is for an unserucred connection for wpa configure your wpa supplicant)

    dhclient

    I prefer to manage my connections with a combination of wlassistant and the terminal.

    apt-get install wlassistant-kde3

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    that didn't help
    it say's

    root@bt:~#dhclient

    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit (a url sorry blocked)

    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    wifi0: unknown hardware address type 801
    Listening on LPF/ath0/00:23:4d:0a:a1:78
    Sending on LPF/ath0/00:23:4d:0a:a1:78
    Listening on LPF/wifi0/
    Sending on LPF/wifi0/
    Listening on LPF/eth0/00:1e:ec:f9:11:a3
    Sending on LPF/eth0/00:1e:ec:f9:11:a3
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    DHCPDISCOVER on wifi0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 4
    ..............
    DHCPDISCOVER on wifi0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
    DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    root@bt:~#

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    Well now you're being vague..
    - What is the mode of the device?
    - What encryption do you have set for the AP?
    - Have you followed the correct procedures in connecting/associating to an AP?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    i am just new to BackTrack
    i just know a little of it
    so how can i see that?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    - man iwconifg
    - umm go check your router/AP settings
    - search on madwifi-project.org on how to associate with one, it'll be under userdocs

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Jerror -

    I have an Eee PC 1000HA, and I am also having problems with the wifi w/BT4.

    Like you, I have installed wlassistant-kde3, but the connection always fails. I dont know what I am doing wrong. I have done this 1000x with other distro's and w/BT3 with no problems.

    When I type lspci it looks like the wifi card is recognized.....same with iwconfig. So I just dont understand why wlassistant isnt working.

    Could you, or someone else, please walk me through the steps, from boot up, to connecting to your AP?

    Thanks,
    Horace

  9. #9
    Member m1cha3l's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    208

    Default

    hi i am also experiencing some problems with my wifi card.

    Code:
    lspci
    
    07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
    
    
    root@bt:~#ifconfig ath0 up
    
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wifi0     no wireless extensions.
    
    ath0      IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:""  Nickname:""
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.422 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
              Bit Rate:1 Mb/s   Tx-Power:16 dBm   Sensitivity=1/1
              Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality=5/70  Signal level=-91 dBm  Noise level=-96 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:30  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    
    
    root@bt:~# apt-get install wlassistant-kde3
    then when i try to connect with wlassistant it fails every time. My home network is WPA2.

    if more info is needed let me know. if anyone can help that would be cool.
    "At least black people knew when they where slaves" Doug stanhope

  10. #10
    Junior Member Relentless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    59

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •