Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: help me setup my toshiba tecra m5 wireless please

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default help me setup my toshiba tecra m5 wireless please

    hi ive eventually managed to get an install working however iwconfig -a says no such device

    im at a loss where to go from here, so if someone can point me in right direction, would appreciate it

    thanks

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    You're not really giving much of a synopsis on what's wrong. Just installed what? The drivers? What card do you have? What's the output when you type in just iwconfig? Answer some of these questions and I'll try to help. I have nothing to do tonight anyway but learn Perl.

  3. #3
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    its not iwconfig -a.instead its ifconfig -a.your laptop should have Intel 3945 A/B/G and it supports right out of the box.for confirming the card.tell output of
    iwconfig
    lspci

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks for the replies, i realise i have started 2 threads on this, but am getting different replies so i will continue as i would like to find a resolution, i have to type the responses out obviously cos its on another machine.

    lspci brings up in regards to wireless

    05:00.0 Network controller: Intel corporation PRO/wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection{rev 02}

    iwconfig shows

    lo no wireless extensions

    eth0 no wireless extensions

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:""
    mode:managed frequency:2.412 Ghz Access point: Not associated
    TX-Power=0 dbm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS Thrff Fragment Thr= 2352 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power managementff
    Link quality:0 Signal Level:0 Noise level:0
    RXinvalid nwid:0 RXinvalid crypt:0 RXinvalid frag:0
    TX excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 missed beacon:0

    thats all it says, someone suggested i should go back to BT3?? is that the best thing to do?

    I am running off a disc first but i am going to do a dual boot with an xp machine or run it directly off a 16gb usb drive, any suggestions which way is best?

    thank you

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    yea your wireless is supported on bt4, secure_it is right...i think your issues is just a matter of syntax. make sure you type that command in correctly. it looks like all you need to do really after that is associate with an ap and you should be good. I think i might've had a similar issue but different hardware. all i had to do after i configured my card was give the command networkmanager start.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •