Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: WUSB54GC Linksys by Cisco?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy WUSB54GC Linksys by Cisco?

    Hey Everyone,

    I'm new but not new, so I figured this would good be a good place to start.

    So anyways all the cards that I have can't do injection, so I went to the local store (Frys) and picked up a WUSB54GC Linksys by Cisco. I cannot get it to come up like every guide I've ever read. iwconfig & ifconfig report nothing on rausb0.

    Did they change something because it's now "Linksys by Cisco", is that where my problem lies? I did a few search, but found no mention of "Linksys by Cisco". On the back of it, it is listed as WUSB54GC ver. 3 if it helps at all.


    Updates:
    Since it seems that my posts aren't being approved very quickly from the moderation queue... here are some updates. (Most of these I've tried with both BT3 & BT4) (Most of these I've also tried on three different computers, two laptops with onboard wifi, and a desktop with no wifi at all)

    If I type in lsusb, it shows the linksys there (also tried multiple ports):
    Bus 002: Device 004: ID 1737:0077 Linksys

    I updated to the newest "enhanced" driver (rt73-k2wrlz-3.0.2) and that didn't help.

    when I type ifconfig -a it is not shown at all. (nor is it shown in any other place).

    If I type lsmod I do see a bit:
    module / size / used / by
    rt73usb / 28676 / 0 /
    rt2x00usb / 13056 / 1 / rt73usb
    rt2x00lib / 31232 / 2 / rt73usb, rt2x00usb

    I've restarted the network ( /etc/init.d/networking restart) (and started it obviously). Plugged in and unplugged the wifi.


    Also the USB Dongle doesn't at all look like any of the pictures I've seen for it. It's solid black with Cisco written on it largely, with Linksys next to it.


    Quote Originally Posted by hatake_kakashi View Post
    That usb/pci id yielded nothing in google search, paste the fcc id of the device or otherwise take a photograph of the device externally with the fcc id clearly showing and make it visible for all of us to see online.
    Won't let me post a picture of the device, but it says:
    CANADA ICES/NMB003, RSS210 Class/Class B
    IC: 3839A-WUSB54GCV3
    FCC ID: Q87-WUSB54GCV3

  2. #2
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    It works fine right out of the box.if you are using BT3 its named as rt73 and in BT4 as rt73usb.there are numerous threads citing how to use this card & Linksys is owned by cisco and its one of its venture,so nothing wrong with that.attach this dongle after properly booting BT and then use the commands you have learned so far to make it work.if still no help then give the output of

    iwconfig
    ifconfig -a

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Still having issues, using BT4 Beta 2/11/09.

    The command results are the same reguardless if I put it in before or after boot.

    here's my commands results: (retyped, as that comp does not have internet...)

    wlan0 is a different card (4965agn).

    The results are

    root@bt: ~# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.
    eth0 no wireless extensions.
    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.
    wlan0 IEEE 802.11abgn ESSID: ""
    Mode: Managed Frequency: 2.412 Ghz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power= 0 dBm
    Retry min limit: 7 RTS thr: off Fragment thr=2352 B
    Encryption key: off
    Power Managment: off
    Link Quality:0 Signal Level:0 Noise Level: 0
    Rx Invalid nwid: 0 Rx invalid crypt: 0 Rx invalid Frag:0
    Tx excessive retires:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    root@bt:~# ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr xx
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric: 1
    RX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupts:16

    lo Link encap:Local loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wlan0 Link encap: Ethernet HWaddr xx
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric: 1
    RX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr: xx (but super long.... )
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric: 1
    RX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Actually looking a bit closer, it doesn't appear that wusb54gc is even turning on. There is a little green light that should turn on when it is recognized and everything, and that's not happening at all...

    ideas?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tenny View Post
    Hey Everyone,

    I'm new but not new, so I figured this would good be a good place to start.

    So anyways all the cards that I have can't do injection, so I went to the local store (Frys) and picked up a WUSB54GC Linksys by Cisco. I cannot get it to come up like every guide I've ever read. iwconfig & ifconfig report nothing on rausb0.

    Did they change something becuase it's now "Linksys by Cisco", is that where my problem lies? I did a few search, but found no mention of "Linksys by Cisco". On the back of it, it is listed as WUSB54GC ver. 3 if it helps at all.
    I have a Linksys wusb54gc adapter, and mine's by Cisco. If your using BackTrack 4 they renamed it to wlan0. On BackTrack 3 it is rausb0, and what do you mean it want come up? Could you see it when you use airmon-ng?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    That usb/pci id yielded nothing in google search, paste the fcc id of the device or otherwise take a photograph of the device externally with the fcc id clearly showing and make it visible for all of us to see online.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I am having the identical problem with the identical usb device. FCC ID:Q87-WUSB54GCV3
    in decimal: product id 119 (hex 0077) and vendor id 5943 (hex 1737)

    When I enter airmon-ng in Terminal I get the three headings: Interface, Chipset, Driver. But Nothing below that.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Here are pictures of the device:

    add the htttp and the www obviously... (15 post min to post pictures / links..)

    tehlounge.com/t3nny/files/1/wusb54gc1.jpg
    tehlounge.com/t3nny/files/1/wusb54gc2.jpg

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    Ok here is the link (hence that's why I asked for FCC ID or photos with FCC ID label):
    https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/...-WUSB54GCV3%27

    It appears that this dongle is equipped with Ralink RT2587 or whatever it says lol. Not sure of the support, you could try contacting ralink for that matter.

  10. #10
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hatake_kakashi View Post
    Ok here is the link (hence that's why I asked for FCC ID or photos with FCC ID label):
    https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/...-WUSB54GCV3%27

    It appears that this dongle is equipped with Ralink RT2587 or whatever it says lol. Not sure of the support, you could try contacting ralink for that matter.
    Good luck with that.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •