Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Installing BT3 on Acer Aspire 4520

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default Installing BT3 on Acer Aspire 4520

    Hello. Wondering if I can get some help or ideas for getting BT3 on my laptop. Install freezes after a few seconds.

    I know this model is not on the supported hardware list, but many other Acers are so I'm hoping I can get it to install on this one.

    Here's the h/w specs:
    Acer Aspire 4520
    AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual-Core CPU TK-55
    NVIDIA GeForce 7000M (384MB shared memory)
    4GB DDR2
    120GB SATA HD

    Previously a dual-boot Vista 32bit and Ubuntu Feisty

    Currently has XP Pro and hoping to make it a dual-boot with BT3 (partitions already set up for BT3 install).


    I get a black screen right after choosing the installation type (does the same for all choices), and after pressing the power button, the BT3 install screen shows but does not do anything. It just kinda hangs there. Here's what I can see on that screen:
    Code:
    OCFS2 DLMFS 1.3.3
    OCFS2 User DLM kernel interface loaded
    GFS2 (built Apr 10 2008 01:09:42) installed
    io scheduler noop registered
    io scheduler anticipatory registered
    io scheduler deadline registered
    io scheduler cfq registered (default)
    assign_interrupt_mode Found MSI capability
    assign_interrupt_mode Found MSI capability
    Pci_hotplug: PCI HotPlug PCI Core version: 0.5
    vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd0000000, mapped to 0xf8d80000, using 6144k, total 262144k
    vesafb: mode is 1024x768x16, line length=2048, pages=1
    vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:d750
    vesafb: pmi: set display start = c00cd786, set palette = c00cd7f0
    vesafb: pmi: ports = b4c3 b503 ba03 c003 c103 c403 c503 c603 c703 c803 c903 cc03 ce03 cf03 d003 d103 d203 d303 d403 d503 da03 ff03
    vesafb: scrolling: redraw
    vesafb: Truecolor: size=0:5:6:5, shift=0:11:5:0
    bootsplash 3.1.6-2004/03/31: looking for picture...<6> silentjpeg size 128150 by tes, <6>...found (1024x768, 12804 bytes, v3).
    Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 107x34
    fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
    ACPI: AC Adapter [ACAD] (on-line)
    ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT1] (battery present)
    input: Power Button (FF) as /class/input/input0
    ACPI: Power Button (FF) [PWRF]
    input: Power Button (CM) as /class/input/input1
    ACPI: Power Button (CM) [PWRB]
    input: Lid Switch as /class/input/input2
    ACPI: Lid Switch [LID]
    input: Sleep Button (CM) as /class/input/input3
    ACPI: Sleep Button (CM) [SLPB]
    _
    ...and then it just stops and sits there. I only get the info above after hitting the power button.


    I've had problems with most flavors of Linux and this laptop. Ubuntu was one of the only flavors I could get to install properly. The other flavors seemed to have an issue with the video card and/or screen. That doesn't seem to be the case here but I'm not sure what's causing it to freeze the install.

    It does the same thing with any of the install methods.


    Anyone have any ideas of stuff I can try to get this to install?


    edit: just to give more details, error exists with CD or USB install. Both have been MD5 confirmed. The issue is the laptop hardware, not the installation medium. I also tried using just 2GB of RAM instead of the 4GB to see if that made a difference and it had no effect.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Try using different boot options (press tab when at the boot menu)
    noacpi noapic vga=
    Have a look here, halfway down the page for some examples.
    hxxps://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks. I did get a little further but still can't install.

    Using a different VESA mode did help and all examples below are using that mode.

    The issue now seems to be with MMCONFIG or ACPI.

    By just trying to boot normally, the last few lines it shows until it freezes are:
    Code:
    ACPI: bus type pci registered
    PCI: Using MMCONFIG
    PCI: Nommconfig possible on device 00:18
    Setting up standard PCI resources
    ACPI: Interpreter enabled
    ACPI: Using IOAPIC
    then it stops


    Using the boot option "noapic" I get basically the same with the last line being different:
    Code:
    ACPI: bus type pci registered
    PCI: Using MMCONFIG
    PCI: Nommconfig possible on device 00:18
    Setting up standard PCI resources
    ACPI: Interpreter enabled
    ACPI: Using PIC for interrupt
    then it stops


    Using the boot option "bt acpi=off" I get:
    Code:
    ExtINT not setup in hardware but reported by MPtable
    ENABLING IO-APIC IRQs
    .. TIMER:  vector=0x31 apic1=-1 pin1=-1 apic2=0 pin2=0
    ... trying to set up timer (IRQ0) through the 8259A ...
    ..... (found pin 0) ... failed.
    ... trying to set up timer as Virtual Wire IRQ... failed.
    ... trying to set up timer as ExtINT IRQ... failed :(.
    Kernel panic -  not syncing: IO-APIC + timer doesn't work!  Boot with apic=debug and send a report.  Then try booting with the 'noapic' option

    The option "apic=debug" is not showing any more info than what's available above.


    I'm going to keep messing with the boot options, but if you have any ideas please let me know! Thanks!

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Ok, so after trying everything I could think of, I gave up and tried BT4 beta. It works great!

    Only thing I have left to do is set up Lilo to dual-boot with XP but I'm not in a rush to do that yet. Thank you to all who contributed to this distro over the years. Donation will be sent shortly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •