Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: BT4 triple boot Help....

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO joshiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Ok KMDAVE and BALDING PARROT ...i really apologise for my short hand english..... i wont repeat (or try to repeat ) that again.....

    may thats why nobody is answering my question......

    i have changed few things now my HDD looks like this....

    The very First BLock of partition is LINUX 20 GB formatted with ext3....(denoted by sda3)
    Next is a windows NTFS 20 GB (denoted by sda1)
    The third is extended partion containing all my data and stuffs denoted by (sda5, sda6 , sda7)

    i just need my sda3 block used for linux related matter and it is untouched with outer world......

    when i run the set of commands like fdisk /dev/sda3
    things go well and i could able to write it as well
    and after writing when i list all the partition its again sda3 only...no linux swap no root nothing...so i fail to execute the formatting commands....

    I stuck sombody help me out plzzzzz


    device boot start end blocks id system
    /dev/sda3 1 2550 20482843+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda1 * 2551 5099 20474842+ HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 5100 19455 115314570 f w95/Ext'd(LBA)

    /dev/sda5 5100 10198 40957686 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6 10199 14660 35840983+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda7 14661 19455 38514688 7 HPFS/NTFS

  2. #12
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    What does fdisk -l say after you wrote your changes?
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO joshiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    It displayed this information as if nothing happened.....
    then i rebooted and login to my desktop and from the i started gparted to see if changes did occured or not .... sadly it hasnt.......

    one more info i want to give... this section of 20 GB space i.e sda3 is right at the start of the disk ... i used gparted to create primary + ext3 partition....

    one think i have noticed .... when i was giving commands sda3 was mounted does those commands work only on munted sda3 or is there ant problem....



    device boot start end blocks id system
    /dev/sda3 1 2550 20482843+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda1 * 2551 5099 20474842+ HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 5100 19455 115314570 f w95/Ext'd(LBA)

    /dev/sda5 5100 10198 40957686 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6 10199 14660 35840983+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda7 14661 19455 38514688 7 HPFS/NTFS

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO joshiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I decided to go with BT4 as it has better hardware support ....but with out istaller it became a real pain in as***
    never had that much problem wen i first installed and manually partitioned spaces for an old version of linux named Turbo linux ....can u think BT3 is slighty easier to install....or do i have to give up the idea as already i dropped the idea of triple boot..now i jus want BT4 and winxp...

  5. #15
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    BT3 requires you to do a manual installation too so no difference.

    What happens if you do the partitioning via fdisk instead of gparted?
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO joshiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Hehehe.. so i guess no respite wether i go with BT3 or BT4...

    ok... i have deleted that sda3 partition and it took away my windows installation files hal.dll eroor so i reinstalled windows...ok i will risk it again i will delete both sda1 and sda3 after that i make a ntfs partion for windows and the remaing will b left as unallocated....

    now 1 question during manual partition does it is possible that overwrite current partition or it will take spaces from unallocated space... hope u get it want i want to ask..

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO joshiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    reading purehate tutorial......
    ..............................showthread.php?t=201 34
    he unmounted first and then he did partitioning.... the thing striking is he mention about partion id..

    now partion id 1 or 2 or 3 generally taken up in my case sda2 for windows and also sda5 sda6 sda7 ....does i hav to replace with partition id may b 8 or 9 or 10... ???

  8. #18
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Sorry but it is hard to understand what you want to say. Also use the edit function, there is a reason that there is a button for that

    Sure you have to use the right id's for your machine, if you just simply type what pureh@te did you will most likely mess up your drive.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO joshiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    Sorry but it is hard to understand what you want to say. Also use the edit function, there is a reason that there is a button for that

    Sure you have to use the right id's for your machine, if you just simply type what pureh@te did you will most likely mess up your drive.
    hmmmm wel EDIT fuction i am using a lot because of the stern rules of the forum ..hehehhe...

    so i may i try ubuntu and istall ir in the sda3 it will automatically make spaces for swap and all then i will format them to use it for BT4 Howz that sounds ...

    IS IT POSSIBLE THAT WAY......

  10. #20
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Sure it is. You could make ubuntu use the free space of sda3 and then go ahead and use it for the BT installation.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •