Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 63

Thread: How to: USB BackTrack 4 with Changes

  1. #31
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bloody View Post
    hmmm, ok, this were just my 2 cents... without using more tools then needed,
    No offense but again overkill. No extra tools are needed, if you follow the advice from the forums here. Here again take the two folders
    boot, and BT and copy them to a clean usb stick.
    Go to either the bootinst.bat in windows or the bootinst.sh in linux and run the program from the command line in either version.
    Then reboot.
    I don't think it could get much simpler.
    Your way again calls for using two usb devices. But what if I only have one?
    The point being to use the least amount of anything in order to achieve the end goal of a usb stick w/ BT on it.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  2. #32
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    22

    Default

    then I've missed something, at the first post it states something else... that's where I adressed my solution to...

  3. #33
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    can someone tell me where i cam mount the changes? i have a HD with 2 partitions and BT4 installed in a usb pen. HDx is the hard drive correct? so the usb is what? sda?
    help me in this guys

    thankx

  4. #34
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by t_virus View Post
    can someone tell me where i cam mount the changes? i have a HD with 2 partitions and BT4 installed in a usb pen. HDx is the hard drive correct? so the usb is what? sda?
    help me in this guys
    thankx
    You can mount the changes anywhere you want.
    #man mount
    I think you are basically stating that you are having trouble with the "save changes part". If so:
    make a directory on a partition called "changes" w/o the quotes.
    edit syslinux.conf to reflect this.
    Then you are done.
    Generally speaking yes hdx is a hard disk drive where x is the actual drive usually starting with a. If there is a number after it then that would be the partition. Also note that in reality the hdx is indicative of IDE whereas sdx is indicative of SCSI or and kernel-level emulation of SCSI devices, like USB devices or, in some cases, CD-RW drives.
    sda can be
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  5. #35
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    thakx i did it ok.

    about the persistent changes i cant do it... does not show in the painel.

    my disk is sdc1 (BT4) and sdc2 (changes) but ''changes=/dev/sdc2'' dont work for me. i added the lines like you said... but if i type it in the beggining it does save. no so bad lol

  6. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    37

    Default

    when i try to perform the "mount" command i get the error "mount: you must specify the filesystem type". Can anyone give me some advice on how to get past this?

  7. #37

    Default

    what is the exact command you are typing?

  8. #38
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    37

    Default

    i type " mount /dev/sdc2 /mnt/sdc2"
    error is " Mount: you must specify what filesystem"

  9. #39

    Default

    what exactly are you trying to mount? (sorry, I should have asked this the first time)
    what is the output of: df -h?

    Also, I assume you are not typing the quotes with the commands.

  10. #40
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    37

    Default

    I am trying to mount sdc2 (my partition for changes on usb). I am not putting in the quotes in these commands. when i df -h sdc2 does not appear, but sdc1 does.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •