Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: No sound? intel-HDA

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default No sound? intel-HDA

    when i upgraded bt3 to this kernel everything, including sound, worked fine. kubuntu 8.10 also has sound, and alsa is installed and running. the system detects the card as does alsa, mixer levels are up, but no sound.

    this is on an HP Pavilion dv5-1183cl by the way.

    Any ideas? Thanks

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    So your on bt3 not bt4 ?

  3. #3
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RageLtMan View Post
    when i upgraded bt3 to this kernel everything, including sound, worked fine. kubuntu 8.10 also has sound, and alsa is installed and running. the system detects the card as does alsa, mixer levels are up, but no sound.

    this is on an HP Pavilion dv5-1183cl by the way.

    Any ideas? Thanks
    Why are you posting questions about BT3 in the BT4 Beta sub-forums?
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default

    appologies, i guess some clarification is in order - i'm using BT4 now, i previously ran BT3 updated to .28.1 kernel and sound worked there with no problems, much as it does in ubuntu intrepid (had to run alsaconf though after upgrading the kernel and afterwards, everything was fine). I was wondering why it doesnt work on bt4 given that the kernel has the driver in it, alsa loads, etc. i'm thinking its an alsa configuration issue but i can't seem to find alsaconf or any equivalent. anyone else running into this, and does anyone have any ideas for how to fix it?

  5. #5
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default alsa tools

    have you checked your sound volume with alsamixer ?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default

    yeah, i've checked the levels, and tried adjusting them a bit to see if maybe it had zeroed them wrong - no dice. There's something alsaconf did prior that i simply dont know since it went on behind the scenes.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    229

    Default

    anyone else have an intel HDA soundcard and having problems? i think it might have something to do with card enumeration... not sure though. Sound would be kind of nice/really useful.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    For Dell Latitude e5400 it also does not work, you see that loundspeaker icon is on the tray , but not any sound in speaker has been heard. Waht caind of driver shoul I download ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •