Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: edimax with airmon and airodump many interface

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    56

    Default edimax with airmon and airodump many interface

    hi
    i plug my Edimax Ew7318usg before booting of BT4
    i put my wifi in monitor mode i obtain 2 wifi interface
    Wlan0 (for my edimax)
    and mon0(???)

    i use ifconfig to know from where mon0 it have the same mac adrress and the same configuration as wlan0

    if i use iwconfig wlan0 rate 1M
    i can't figure any speed rate in iwconfig wlan0 (even 54M)

    then i launch airmon and airodump
    i obtain some AP but few minutes i can't obtain nothing (i unplug it then i plug it i can obtain AP )

    i check iwconfig i obtain :

    wlan0
    mon0
    mon1
    mon2
    and something like "wmaster0"
    (all these interface have the same configuration ,same mac...)

    how can i fix the problem of interface

    this problem (increasing the number of interface) is not present in
    BT3 but the problem of not obtain AP after some minutes has not change (not all the time).
    the usb is fine i use it with XP

    i can't connect with my BT4 to the internet because of dhcpcd (they say i should download )i put a static ip and i can' t connect ,to tell you exactly what the problem is
    thank you

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    It is normal, because iw is used.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    I think you should use dhclient instead of dhcpcd from now on.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    56

    Default

    what step should i take to use properly the interface wlan0 and
    mon0 wmaster0... (what interface should i use mon0 or wlan0 or...with airodump,airmon...),i am pluging only one usb wifi (edimax ew-7318usg)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by samer View Post
    what step should i take to use properly the interface wlan0 and
    mon0 wmaster0... (what interface should i use mon0 or wlan0 or...with airodump,airmon...),i am pluging only one usb wifi (edimax ew-7318usg)
    I think that firsto off all you need to figure out what you want to do. Then you should take the time to get to know BT and it's capabilities a little better. I don't know where you are on linux but if you want to use this (i must say magnificent) piece of art you should brush up on that too. It's a lot of work but it pays off.
    And please don't just post without thinking. To answer your questions someone would need to write a whole book (plus considering the flames the guys throw around here )
    Suggestion - ly low and read all the tuttorials you can find on this forum and that are linked to this forum. You'll get a better picture of what is going on.

    And to your question - or at least a part of it.

    You should
    iwconfig - this will list your wireless interfaces
    for airodump-ng you shoud use the interface that's in monitor mode
    ifconfig - you will see if your wireless is up

    If you can't get around this you should put on your thinking capand get busy with reading.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    56

    Default

    hi every one and excuse me for the large detail that i enter and thanks very much for any help
    this is exactly what i do :

    i boot my backtrack 4 from livecd
    then i plug my edimax and some time i plug it then i boot BT4 (this problem of increasing of interface is not present in BT3
    and in BT3 i use rausb0 and still rausb0 after putting it in monitor mode)
    i have only one wifi usb pluged to my laptop
    1)
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=0 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2352 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    2)
    root@bt:~# ifconfig
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    (i don't put ifconfig wlan0 down)

    if i put ifconfig wlan0 it give me a mac address differente as in reality (i have not use macchanger or something like that)

    3)
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start wlan0


    Found 1 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    -e
    PID Name
    5825 knetworkmanager


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]
    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)

    4)
    root@bt:~# ifconfig
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    mon0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 1E-32-BC-73-DA-F3-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 1E-32-BC-73-DA-F3-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    5)
    root@bt:~# ifconfig wlan0 up


    6)
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=24 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2352 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    mon0 IEEE 802.11abg Mode:Monitor Frequency:2.412 GHz Tx-Power=24 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2352 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    7)
    root@bt:~# airodump-ng mon0


    then i obtain some AP a few second i can't pick nothing i have to remove the wifi then reput it again to pick some Ap


    if i put

    8)
    root@bt:~# modprobe rt73
    FATAL: Module rt73 not found.(i try it at the beginning and the same result i obtain)

    9)
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]
    mon0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]



    10)
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start mon0


    Found 1 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    -e
    PID Name
    5825 knetworkmanager


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]
    mon0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]
    (monitor mode enabled on mon1)

    11)
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]
    mon0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]
    mon1 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]


    12)
    when i remove my usb all the process are the same but i obtain [phy1] in place of [phy0]
    like that
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy1]

    BUT if i put ifconfig wlan0 i obtain the real mac address of my wifi usb!!!

    13)
    and if i put macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0
    then airmon-ng start wlan0 the mac address of mon0 is not the same as for wlan0


    14)
    one time i have put many command but i don't remember exactly the order of commands (i have not update any driver ,and some times i put the wifi usb then i boot my live cd) and airodump-ng have work very very well with no problem at all
    and i test the macchanger and i still picking Ap ...(with no problem at all)
    (the process of my wifi configuration are well done)??


    and excuse me for my large post
    and thank's again for any help

  7. #7
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Post

    Troublesome post.I could not figure out the whole post as my mind got choked after reading whole.in short the rt73 driver are known as rt73usb now in bt4 and we go ahead with your problem.there are now possibilities like atheros chipset that we can put one interface in managed mode and other one can perform discovery/injection and in case of yours it is wlan0(managed)& mon0(monitor).so if you want to connect to your AP in managed mode just
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed etc. etc.
    dhclient wlan0 (dhcpcd is deprecated from bt4)

    for working with monitor/injection use mon0
    airodump-ng mon0
    if you are not getting appropriate results lower the transmit rate e.g.
    iwconfig mon0 rate 1M
    test with
    aireplay-ng -9 mon0
    should sort out your problem.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    56

    Default kill a PID

    when i put
    airodump-ng start wlan0 i obtain :
    i have the following

    Found 2 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    -e
    PID Name
    7368 knetworkmanager
    8211 dhclient


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy15]
    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)

    HOW can i kill knetworkmanager and dhclient?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    36

    Default

    kill 7368
    kill 8211

    Or in other words, kill the PID's of the proccesses.

    Or don't do /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start or /etc/init.d/networking start
    "In God we trust. All others, we virus scan." --Unknown Person

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have the same card and I think I might have found the solution. Try starting the NetworkManager script.

    # /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start
    # airmon-ng wlan0 start
    # ifconfig mon0 down
    # macchanger mon0 -A
    # ifconfic mon0 up

    I then fired up Wireshark and captured on mon0.

    I got a similar list of processes that could cause problems when I ran airmon-ng: knetworkmanager, NetworkManger, and wpa_supplicant; but they did not seem to actually cause a problem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •