Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: RT73 wifi-card

  1. #11
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Now its providing 2 interfaces.mon0 for monitoring & wlan0 for managed mode and to access network.

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I have the same card but am having a lot of trouble getting bt4 to recognize it. I am new to linux and am trying to learn it in an online course. Could you help me out with my card trouble?

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    If we are to continue someone should move this thread to a more apropriate location.

    @nefandus

    if you have read only this thread you should have at least some info on the subject
    but the post you wrote??? you have problems???
    Well what are they? Or should we just guess?!?
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    First I just want to say that I dont know how to move the post and didnt mean to violate any rules. Second This is going to be a long post so please forgive the length. If I have violated any rules I would like to know so I can correct my posts.

    Okay here is how it started out, had bt4 trouble, did some research and found out that I didnt have the correct card. So I bought the Edimax EW-7318USG. Well there are so many post and so many instructions on the net on what to do to get the card to work such as tweaking it, getting new drivers for it, using commands to get bt4 to recognize it. I dont know where to start or like I said I am new to linux and have trouble with the commands. I decided to try some of the commands on this thread. Here is the output. I am using bt4 in vmware by the way.

    root@bt:~# aireplay-ng -9 mon0
    For information, no action required: Using gettimeofday() instead of /dev/rtc
    Interface mon0:
    ioctl(SIOCGIFINDEX) failed: No such device
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start wlan0


    Found 2 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    -e
    PID Name
    9921 knetworkmanager
    11451 dhclient3


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy12]
    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)

    root@bt:~# aireplay-ng -9 mon0
    For information, no action required: Using gettimeofday() instead of /dev/rtc
    07:58:15 Trying broadcast probe requests...
    07:58:16 No Answer...
    07:58:16 Found 0 APs
    root@bt:~#

    So basically what I think I am doing is activating the card?
    I would like to be able to use aircrack to hack my wep just to get my intent out there. Thanks.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Exclamation Moved

    Post moved to appropriate forum

    Also see existing post:

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=20390

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    56

    Default

    i download the patch for rt73 from the site mention
    http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com/rt73-cvs-daily.tar.gz
    i test the injection test:
    aireplay-ng -9 wlan0
    and the injection is 100% working (for more then 3 AP)
    BUT when i use airodump-ng to scan for AP i can get nothing and i try to specify a channel (airodump-ng -c 4 wlan0)
    and again nothing is picked (my AP is working on channel 4)
    and i try to use kismet and i can 't find any AP !!
    what can be the problem ??
    (i search on aircrack site and they mention about (mac80211)
    that can be the problem ?? and how can we fix it??

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    Post the commands you use (in detail and order) and the output you get.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    56

    Default

    i have make many thread dependent to my problem on :
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=20217

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=20299

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=20552

    and i see your thread and i try to download the patch of rt73 to see if i can solve my problem

    i type :
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    airodump-ng -c 4 wlan0 (to scan )
    aireplay-ng -9 wlan0 (work perfectly)
    and i have check the "airdriver-ng loaded" to identify the loaded drivers ,
    i found 3 :
    (2 of them initially loaded by bt4)
    and 1 from the patch recently downloaded and installed .
    i don't unloaded any of them ,then i scan with airodump-ng .
    then unloaded the 2 initially and the same problem no AP detected.
    if you can give me all the detail from the booting of the BT4 live cd to the scanning process because i SEARCH a lot of these method and each time i find 1/2 explanation
    thanks

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •