Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: BT4 Beta & Windows 7 Ultimate Dual Boot Tutorial

  1. #1
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Post BT4 Beta & Windows(7) HDD Install Dual Boot Tutorial

    Works with BackTrack 4 Beta & windows including XP,vista,7.

    Hello to all.time to make some fun with back|track 4 beta along with windows.I have tested this using windows 7 ultimate beta & BT 4 Beta.the fun part is both of the distro's are in beta state & will update time to time until final release.first install windows 7 ultimate and I assume you know how to do that(the most easiest thing is world I assume).here is what partition scheme I used.change it accordingly to your HDD partitions.also I assume you have make 3 extra partitions from the empty space from HDD using 3rd party tool like paragon partition manager/hiren boot,as fdisk options wipe the partition.
    Boot through BT4 ISO and see the mount point using
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#nano /etc/fstab
    here is how my partition scheme looks like

    Note down the partition scheme of your HDD as it will be use for later reference
    now back to terminal
    unmount all the NTFS & EXT,reiserfs File System
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#umount /dev/sda1
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#umount /dev/sda2
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#umount /dev/sda3
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#umount /dev/sda5
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#umount /dev/sda6
    now fdisk the sda harddisk
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#fdisk /dev/sda
    Here is how my hard-disk partition scheme is

    Please note down the linux partions start cylinder & last cylinder.In my case its
    /dev/sda5 29561 30325 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 30326 30334 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 30335 30401 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    now delete the Linux partitions carefully.use commands
    d
    7
    d
    6
    d
    5
    w
    now reboot once as the kernel is still using old tables
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#init 6
    now back to terminal after reboot
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#fdisk /dev/sda
    n
    29561
    30325
    n
    30326
    30334
    n
    30335
    30401
    t
    2 #only if you are seeing your NTFS partition as Hidden HPFS/NTFS
    7 #change Hidden HPFS/NTFS to Normal HPFS/NTFS partition
    t
    3 #only if you are seeing your NTFS partition as Hidden HPFS/NTFS
    7 #change Hidden HPFS/NTFS to Normal HPFS/NTFS partition
    t
    7
    82 #setting last sda7 as swap partition
    p
    and it should look like this now


    now write the tables
    w
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mke2fs /dev/sda6
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mkswap /dev/sda7
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#swapon /dev/sda7
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mkreiserfs /dev/sda5
    Choose Y
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mount /dev/sda5 /mnt/backtrack
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mount /dev/sda6 /mnt/backtrack/boot
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,boot,usr,etc,lib,opt,sb in,var} /mnt/backtrack
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#cd /mnt/backtrack
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mkdir {mnt,proc,sys,tmp}
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#chmod 1777 /mnt/backtrack/tmp
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mount --bind /dev /mnt/backtrack/dev
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mount -t proc proc /mnt/backtrack/proc/
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#chroot /mnt/backtrack /bin/bash
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#nano /etc/lilo.conf
    your LILO config should look like this



    Replace the windows partition with yours e.g. /dev/sda1 to blah blah
    save and exit
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#lilo -v
    reboot
    Make mount points for our windows/pen drive
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#mkdir /mnt {sda1,sda2,sda3,sdb1,sr0)
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#nano /etc/fstab
    Update your fstab file & add entries of partitions there
    here is how my fstab looks like.update it accordingly to your HDD partitions

    Save & Exit
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#init 6
    That's it!
    -------------------------------------------------
    BUGS/Mods:
    1.if you are getting error "cannot obtain lock on /media/.hal-mtab" then enter the mount partion entry into /etc/fstab file.e.g as I was getting this error while accessing DVD Drive and Pen-Drive or windows partitions then make directories and update fstab file or alternatively do this
    mkdir /media
    touch /media/.hal-mtab
    2.if you have used command "update-rc.d networking defaults".every time BT starts it will look for DHCP address for NIC's.if you don't have any connection at that time.it will just keep looking.for getting it out press ctrl +c and enter.it will carry on booting then.
    3.those who wants to manually start networking type
    root@ThUnDerBolT:~#/etc/init.d/networking start
    If you find any bugs feel free to comment it on my blog and to update on remote-exploit forum.
    http://www.wifi0wn.co.cc

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Thanks for that, there is a typo

    cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,boot,usr,etc,lib,opt,sb in,var} /mnt/backtrack

    should be

    cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,boot,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,var} /mnt/backtrack

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    its /sbin only.becuase of some format system of forum,its looking like a space in between.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Great thank you very much i look forward to try it!! um also one quick noob question how did u managed to get more than 4 usable partitions in your
    /dev/sda
    do you have like double HDD??? or is there a way to create more usable partitions?
    I aint crazy just a lil mistaken

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    Read up on primary, logical & extended partitions.

    You can start here
    http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/file/...titions-c.html
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default

    @forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=20171
    so what do you guys think of that post below another method to install bt4 in win7?
    also thanks for the advice #mfBaranian# i did notice what he did over there
    he used extended partitions for #5,6,7 and he skipped using #4 primary
    so my partitions
    looked like this until after i upgraded to win7 and my lilo boot manager got whipped
    /sda1 ntfs win main
    /sda2 ntfs backup
    /sda3 linux reiserfs << backtrack
    /sda4 linux solaris swap
    now i will make it look like this
    /sda1 ntfs win main
    /sda2 ntfs backup
    /sda5 linux
    /sda6 linux
    /sda7 swap solaris linux
    plz correct me if im wrong
    thank you for real and i will try this first if i something goes wrong ill bring feedback and i will go an attempt also doing what the forum link i posted tried.
    later
    I aint crazy just a lil mistaken

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    good work. is there anyway to dual boot with BT if you already have win7 installed?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    You can install BT4 regardless of the already installed systems on your machine. Everything you need is written here in this post and in the forum. Just prepare your partitions and use unetbootin.
    It doesn-t come any easier than that. And search for Christ's sake....
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  9. #9
    Member PeppersGhost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kompulsive View Post
    good work. is there anyway to dual boot with BT if you already have win7 installed?
    bootinst.bat for USB cant get easier than that.
    <EeePc 1000HA BT4/W7 USB boot Alfa500 GPS BlueTooth>

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    sounds good to me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •