Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Rtl8187

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default Rtl8187

    RTL8187 is working fine with bt4!! no mac changer problem!!!! everything fine!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    267

    Default

    Is this with the ALFA high-power, M1TH1K?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Realtek RTL8187b wireless usb...

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    82

    Wink

    Hi friends,

    I just bought an ALFA 500mW usb wireless card and I am just wondering if anyone of you guys that has the same card as me, had actually heard or still hearing some strange noises inside the case.

    Once I have connected the card I suddenly heard a noise and I was wondering where this noise comes from. When I took the wireless card and touch it to my ears I heard the noise.

    Can you please check yours whether it does the same or not!

    This noise comes periodically. Is that normal or ?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Main has the same, but still working, and working very good.

    :-)

  6. #6
    Senior Member Shatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    192

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ioannou.alexandros View Post
    I just bought an ALFA 500mW usb wireless card and I am just wondering if anyone of you guys that has the same card as me, had actually heard or still hearing some strange noises inside the case.

    Once I have connected the card I suddenly heard a noise and I was wondering where this noise comes from. When I took the wireless card and touch it to my ears I heard the noise.

    Can you please check yours whether it does the same or not!

    This noise comes periodically. Is that normal or ?
    You mean noises like this?
    I have the card in me head, but you have the memory problems?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Shatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    192

    Default

    I've just tested the alfa AWUS036H with BT4b and there seem to be a few changes to note since BT3.

    • First, the standard "iwconfig" way of putting this card into monitor mode doesn't work any more. You have to use "airmon-ng start wlan0" to create a mon0 interface, which supports monitor mode as well as injection.
    • Airodump-ng wlan0 fails, but airodump-ng mon0 works. The injection with "aireplay-ng --test mon0" also works.
    • macchanger works on both interfaces.
    • "iwpriv wlan0 highpower 1 is gone", but "iwconfig wlan0 txpower 20" or "iwconfig mon0 txpower 20" work now.
    I have the card in me head, but you have the memory problems?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default

    i'm having a litle problem... how do i connect to wpa? with this device

  9. #9

    Default RTL8187 - Alfa AWUS036H

    Quote Originally Posted by M1TH1K View Post
    i'm having a litle problem... how do i connect to wpa? with this device
    Very happy to report that the Alfa now works with WPA...no more ndiswrappers!

    Start the NetworkManager: /etc/init.d/NetManager start
    open the network manager icon at the bottom right hand corner of your screen (little green globe), add the new connection and connect. It's pretty intuitive once you start looking at it.

    Oh, almost forgot...make sure your interface is NOT in monitor mode

  10. #10
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default

    I haven't got the BT4 beta, but to somebody who has go it:

    Do you know which RTL8187 driver is used, and where I can get it? (I wanna install it on my main Linux setup)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •