Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 95

Thread: BT4 beta Hard drive install

  1. #61
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I really don't want sound silly, but is there anyway I can install this on my eee pc 701?

    I've tried a few times, but I've run into a few problems like running out of space. I've got Backtrack 3 all up and running very nicely. Thank you for any help (:

  2. #62
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by capt.wheeto View Post
    I really don't want sound silly, but is there anyway I can install this on my eee pc 701?

    I've tried a few times, but I've run into a few problems like running out of space. I've got Backtrack 3 all up and running very nicely. Thank you for any help (:
    Well it stands to reason if you are getting messages stating you are running out of space that you should; make some space!
    If you can be more specific then maybe we can help you out more.
    Are you using a sd card or usb stick or the internal sshd?
    Are they empty or what?
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #63
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Sorry I didn't reply in ages.

    But uhm, I'm trying to do an installation to the SSD, I deleted my Backtrack 3 partitions but I still seem to run out of space. Thanks for any help

  4. #64
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigMac View Post
    cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,boot,etc,lib,opt, sbin,var} /mnt/bt/

    error
    cp: cannot start 'sbin,var}' : no such file or directory...

    why is there a space before sbin?...

    umm... i think that was the problem, i remeber purehate saying its a glitch in the matrix or something
    do not space: ,sbin,var}space /mnt/bt/

  5. #65
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for the help, appreciate it.
    Had a few quirks to sidestep but no problems now.

  6. #66
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by capt.wheeto View Post
    Sorry I didn't reply in ages.

    But uhm, I'm trying to do an installation to the SSD, I deleted my Backtrack 3 partitions but I still seem to run out of space. Thanks for any help
    I installed it as live with changes. It won't fit any other way.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  7. #67
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mage2 View Post
    I tried the guide and tried installing it to a Sun Virtual box session . I made a 12 gig virtual hdd, made 3 partitions and followed the guide as if I was installing to a normal HDD. I must have missed something because im getting.
    "kernel panic - not syncing: No init found try passing init= option to kernel"
    I looked at the guide and nothing points to this.
    What am i missing, could this be caused by me having the wrong partition set with the boot flag?

    i know its something lame and simple but its driving me batty
    I was getting this as well, so I went over all the steps again. My problem (and I am assuming yours also) was in /etc/lilo.conf I had root=/dev/hda1 but my root partition is on /dev/hda3 (the default is root=/dev/sda1 which is probably how we messed that up)

    If you did this as well, I recommend starting all over. The only thing i did not have to do is reparition my disk.

  8. #68
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Failed to create swap space

    Hi, after adding the partitions the format commands worked properly, but the swap space didn't work. Any suggestions, or ideas?
    Full Text of formatting:
    root@bt:~# mke2fs /dev/sda2
    mke2fs 1.41.3 (12-Oct-2008)
    Filesystem label=
    OS type: Linux
    Block size=1024 (log=0)
    Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
    10040 inodes, 40160 blocks
    2008 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
    First data block=1
    Maximum filesystem blocks=41156608
    5 block groups
    8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
    2008 inodes per group
    Superblock backups stored on blocks:
    8193, 24577

    Writing inode tables: done
    Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

    This filesystem will be automatically checked every 23 mounts or
    180 days, whichever comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
    root@bt:~# mkreiserfs /dev/sda4
    mkreiserfs 3.6.19 (2003 )

    A pair of credits:
    BigStorage () contributes to our general fund every month,
    and has done so for quite a long time.

    The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA,l) is the
    primary sponsor of Reiser4. DARPA does not endorse this project; it merely
    sponsors it.


    Guessing about desired format.. Kernel 2.6.28.1 is running.
    Format 3.6 with standard journal
    Count of blocks on the device: 5974160
    Number of blocks consumed by mkreiserfs formatting process: 8394
    Blocksize: 4096
    Hash function used to sort names: "r5"
    Journal Size 8193 blocks (first block 18)
    Journal Max transaction length 1024
    inode generation number: 0
    UUID: 54c50b45-e31d-4a92-b19c-b5973edf94a4
    ATTENTION: YOU SHOULD REBOOT AFTER FDISK!
    ALL DATA WILL BE LOST ON '/dev/sda4'!
    Continue (y/n):y
    Initializing journal - 0%....20%....40%....60%....80%....100%
    Syncing..ok

    Tell your friends to use a kernel based on 2.4.18 or later, and especially not a
    kernel based on 2.4.9, when you use reiserFS. Have fun.

    ReiserFS is successfully created on /dev/sda4.
    root@bt:~# mkswap /dev/sda3
    Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 2104508 KiB
    no label, UUID=d18f89d5-6823-4ed8-b3e0-cf955c832799
    root@bt:~# swapon /dev/sda4
    swapon: /dev/sda4: Invalid argument

    This is on an Acer 5515, with windows business on sda1.

    Thanks

  9. #69
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I get an error when i try to use mke2fs.


    Code:
    root@bt: # mke2fs /dev/sda1
    mke2fs 1.41.3 (12-Oct-2008)
    /dev/sda1 is mounted; will not make a filesystem here!
    ?

  10. #70
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TermiGR View Post
    I get an error when i try to use mke2fs.


    Code:
    root@bt: # mke2fs /dev/sda1
    mke2fs 1.41.3 (12-Oct-2008)
    /dev/sda1 is mounted; will not make a filesystem here!
    ?
    Uhh unmount the partition
    use #umount
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •