Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 95

Thread: BT4 beta Hard drive install

  1. #41
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    awesome! thanks. worked for me first try. on a 16GB usb stick

  2. #42
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Ok, I got my lilo.conf file. This is all installed on a USB Slimdrive. When I boot it all up I get a kernal error, and I think it's related to the warning it gives me when I run lilo -v. But first, the lilo.conf file
    Code:
    lba32
    boot=/dev/sdb
    root=/dev/sdb3
    # bitmap=/boot/sarge.bmp
    # bmp-colors=1,,0,2,,0
    # bmp-table=120p,173p,1,15,17
    # bmp-timer=254p,432p,1,0,0
    # install=bmp
    prompt
    timeout=50
    # map=/boot/map
    vga=0x317
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
          label="BT4"
          read-only
          initrd=/boot/splash.initrd
          append=quiet
    When I run lilo -v, this is the output:
    Code:
    Reading boot sector from /dev/sdb
    Warning: /dev/sdb is not on the first disk
    Using MENU secondary loader
    Calling map_insert_data
    
    Boot image: /boot/vmlinuz
    Mapping RAM disk /boot/splash.initrd
    Added BT4 *
    
    Writing boot sector.
    /boot/boot.0810 exists - no boot sector backup copy made.
    One warning was issued.
    Now I know the boot partition /dev/sdb1 is flagged as bootable when I go into fdisk /dev/sdb. The /dev/sdb2 partition is the swap, and the /dev/sdb3 is the root folder. This could only mean that my problem should be somewhere in the lilo.conf file, right? I'll post the fstab just in case:

    Code:
    /dev/sdb3 / reiserfs defaults 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    /dev/sdb2 none swap sw 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    When I go to boot off the USB harddrive, it gives me this error on the backtrack bootup screen, after I selcet "BT4" from Lilo.

    "Kernal panic - not syncing: VFS:Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,19)"

  3. #43
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Ubuntu 8.10 dual boot trouble

    I have installed ubuntu 8.10 on my /dev/sda1 and am trying to install BT4 on my /dev/sda2 with /dev/sda3 as swap. The trouble I am having is when running lilo -v ther error that I receive is

    Boot other: /dev/sda1, on /dev/sda, loader CHAIN
    Fatal:First sector of /dev/sda1 doesn't have a valid boot signature

    My lilo is configured as:

    lba32
    boot=/dev/sda
    change-rules
    reset
    prompt
    timeout=50
    root=/dev/sda
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label=BT4
    read-only
    initrd=/boot/splash.initrd
    append=quiet
    other=/dev/sda1
    label=UBUNTU
    table=/dev/sda

    Anyone have any ideas? I know the issue is probably with ubuntu 8.10 which I don't have much experience with yet.

  4. #44
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jhutchins11 View Post
    I have installed ubuntu 8.10 on my /dev/sda1 and am trying to install BT4 on my /dev/sda2 with /dev/sda3 as swap. The trouble I am having is when running lilo -v ther error that I receive is

    Boot other: /dev/sda1, on /dev/sda, loader CHAIN
    Fatal:First sector of /dev/sda1 doesn't have a valid boot signature

    Anyone have any ideas? I know the issue is probably with ubuntu 8.10 which I don't have much experience with yet.
    In your case it's not necessary to install lilo. Since ubuntu 8.10 is already installed on your HD and supposing you're using common partitions, you can just define in menu.lst of GRUB to point to the kernel and root partition of BT.

    Here is how I've done this:
    i'm using similar scheme: eeebuntu is installed together with Backtrack.
    My hdd partitioned as following:

    sda1 Boot Primary Linux ext2 403.04
    sda2 Primary Linux ext3 24996.63
    sda3 Primary Linux swap / Solaris 1998.75
    sda5 Logical Linux ReiserFS 114997.64
    sda6 Logical Linux ReiserFS 17643.23

    when sda1 using as "/boot" (common for both eeebuntu and BT), sda2 is a "/" for eeebuntu , sda5 is a "/home" for eeebuntu (i thought it's better to do not mix the "/home"'s for the both systems ) and sda6 is "/" of Backtrack.
    In that case the part of backtrack in my menu.lst looks like that:

    Code:
    title           BackTrack
    uuid            7da555c1-295f-427e-b29c-5632e02fec90
    kernel          /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda6 ro i8042.noloop vga=792 clocksource=hpet
    initrd          /splash.initrd
    quiet

  5. #45
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Loading hardware stuck

    i've downloaded the iso and burn it but it always stalled to install to hard drive, it stuck at
    * Loading hardware drivers...
    is there a problem to install it on sata drives?
    or any other incompatible for my system?
    Intel P4i65GV
    P4 2,8GHz
    512 mb
    Nvidia GeForce4 MX 4000
    Seagate ST380012ACE (ata drivers)
    Maxtor STM380215AS (sata drives)
    i've planned to installing it on Maxtor drive, so i can use it seperatelly, the boot will be chosen from the bios manually.

    but when i install it on vmware it was running well fine, but it have some kind of error at same place
    piix4_smbus 000:00:07.3: Host SMBus controller not enabled!
    i don't know what was that...

  6. #46
    Member cr1spyj0nes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Dame, im trying to install bt4 to my eeepc 1000H and when i type,
    mke2fs /dev/sda1 i get this
    mke2sf 1.41.3 (12-Oct-2008)
    /dev/sda1 is apparently in use by system; will not make a filesystem here!
    any one hade this problem?
    I would rather be hated for what i am,
    Then loved for what i am not.

  7. #47
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cr1spyj0nes View Post
    Dame, im trying to install bt4 to my eeepc 1000H and when i type,
    mke2fs /dev/sda1 i get this
    mke2sf 1.41.3 (12-Oct-2008)
    /dev/sda1 is apparently in use by system; will not make a filesystem here!
    any one hade this problem?
    Not sure if that is a mavis beacon problem there or what, but generally this error can be one of several things. the partition is already setup and being used by the system . Or there is some data on the disk that is not allowing the disk to be reformatted properly. Or something else.
    I would try to use fdisk to check if it is partitioned properly, if it is, it might be corrupted.
    Code:
    # fdisk /dev/sda
    use 'p' to print to print table, check /dev/sda1 and see if it looks okay
    You can also try to fsck it if fdisk shows it to be a valid partition.
    Code:
    # e2fsck -C 0 /dev/sda1
    (or man e2fsck for more options).
    Also you can try to reformat it.
    Code:
    # mke2fs -v -t ext3  /dev/sda1
    (man mke2fs for more options).
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  8. #48
    Member cr1spyj0nes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    164

    Default

    still no go, i made all the partions from gparted live cd,
    I would rather be hated for what i am,
    Then loved for what i am not.

  9. #49
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cr1spyj0nes View Post
    still no go, i made all the partions from gparted live cd,
    Ok this really doesn't help much, so can you show the output from the above.
    As I stated above this can happen sometimes due to data not being completely removed from the drive. There might be a part of the partition that is reserved for a system restore. Since I don't have one of these newer eeepc's I am not sure.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  10. #50
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pyro01 View Post
    Ok, I got my lilo.conf file. This is all installed on a USB Slimdrive. When I boot it all up I get a kernal error, and I think it's related to the warning it gives me when I run lilo -v. But first, the lilo.conf file
    Code:
    lba32
    boot=/dev/sdb
    root=/dev/sdb3
    # bitmap=/boot/sarge.bmp
    # bmp-colors=1,,0,2,,0
    # bmp-table=120p,173p,1,15,17
    # bmp-timer=254p,432p,1,0,0
    # install=bmp
    prompt
    timeout=50
    # map=/boot/map
    vga=0x317
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
          label="BT4"
          read-only
          initrd=/boot/splash.initrd
          append=quiet
    When I run lilo -v, this is the output:
    Code:
    Reading boot sector from /dev/sdb
    Warning: /dev/sdb is not on the first disk
    Using MENU secondary loader
    Calling map_insert_data
    
    Boot image: /boot/vmlinuz
    Mapping RAM disk /boot/splash.initrd
    Added BT4 *
    
    Writing boot sector.
    /boot/boot.0810 exists - no boot sector backup copy made.
    One warning was issued.
    Now I know the boot partition /dev/sdb1 is flagged as bootable when I go into fdisk /dev/sdb. The /dev/sdb2 partition is the swap, and the /dev/sdb3 is the root folder. This could only mean that my problem should be somewhere in the lilo.conf file, right? I'll post the fstab just in case:

    Code:
    /dev/sdb3 / reiserfs defaults 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    /dev/sdb2 none swap sw 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0 # AutoUpdate
    When I go to boot off the USB harddrive, it gives me this error on the backtrack bootup screen, after I selcet "BT4" from Lilo.

    "Kernal panic - not syncing: VFS:Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,19)"


    Hi Guys!

    I have exactly the same issue as Pyro01.
    I also tried to install it on an external HDD but i found the same error.
    Tried to search for solution but no luck here. Anyone what can be the issue?

    Thanks in advance

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •