Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Windows server 2003 now what?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    69

    Default Windows server 2003 now what?

    So my boss let me use his copy of server 2003 to play around with, and quite frankly i dont know where to start i'm installing it one one of my dummy comps, but dont really know what to do after that any ideas?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    190

    Default

    setup some shares, put up a web server, ftp server, explore

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    69

    Default

    ok this may be a stupid question but are there drivers for server 2003 im lost in this and am trying to get it online and i dont belive i will be able to because im not close to an ethernet port.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    your not close to an ethernet port?! You can set up an Active Directory for fun, maybe create share folders as drakoth777 mentioned. Basically google servers, music servers, web servers, file servers, servers can be fun if you can make them useful! But if you arent connected to a network then a server is just a lightbulb.
    This is a hackers forum :P
    root ~# aircrack-ng pwnd-01.cap
    Lenovo Thinkpad R500, OS: Ubuntu 8.10, BackTrack3, Windows XP (VirtualBox), Windows Vista, Windows 7 beta

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO imported_irohs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    isn't this a forum for something else?..?.. i can't remember what, though.

    i guess i would just install the OS, use CDs or a cross over cable to update all the patches, etc.. and then, with the cross over cable, use backtrack to hack at it.
    everytime you figure out a hack or exploit, learn how to strengthen w2k3 srvr to prevent it.

    ...or something like that.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    190

    Default

    What kind of connection does a crossover use on each computer? Is it ad-hoc or PPP? How do you configure(using a terminal) a crossover connection on each computer?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irohs View Post
    isn't this a forum for something else?..?.. i can't remember what, though.

    i guess i would just install the OS, use CDs or a cross over cable to update all the patches, etc.. and then, with the cross over cable, use backtrack to hack at it.
    everytime you figure out a hack or exploit, learn how to strengthen w2k3 srvr to prevent it.

    ...or something like that.
    Thats what im planing i just have a problem getting the comp to the network so i guess ill have to try a little harder thank u

  8. #8
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by drakoth777 View Post
    What kind of connection does a crossover use on each computer? Is it ad-hoc or PPP? How do you configure(using a terminal) a crossover connection on each computer?
    Just connect the crossover cable and put IP from same subnet in both of the computers & they will communicate.the simple rule is

    straight through cable=when using dissimilar devices
    cross over cable=when using similar device like ethernet to ethernet NIC connection
    roll over=console cable for accessing routers/firewalls/switches/IPS systems
    there is also mix meshed cable having no standard color code followed as by crossover/straight-through.they works both in place of straight & crossover.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    69

    Default

    So I went out and got a crossover cable and tried it out I know im missing something i tried to set up the computers as the same ip (2 windows computers) and i still get limited or no connectivity on both i only used 2 windows cuz I dont know how to change my backtrack ip, is it the cable or am I just messing it up?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    You can't have two computers sharing the same IP, just like there is no possibility of having the same house numbers for two or more houses on the same street.

    Do read networking and get used to basics. For some reason most of these questions seems illogical.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •