Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problem booting live CD

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Unhappy Problem booting live CD

    After typing in "root" and then "toor", I type "startx" and this doesn't work. I tried "xconf" and then "startx" and that didn't help either. Can someone please help me boot. I am using a laptop. It is a Dell Inspiron E1505. The message I get after typing "startx" is:

    "(EE) VESA(0): No matching modes
    (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

    Fatal server error:
    no screens found
    giving up.
    xinit: Connection reset by peer (errno 104): unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server error.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    What does the lspci for the device output? Chances are your video chipset isn't supported.

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums spawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    280

    Default

    try configure your xorg to use vesa driver
    probably will work .

    X -configure ( for automatic configuration ) or xorgsetup ( manual configuration )

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spawn View Post
    try configure your xorg to use vesa driver
    probably will work .

    X -configure ( for automatic configuration ) or xorgsetup ( manual configuration )
    http://mdek.net/contents/e1505/
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums spawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    280

    Default

    but for tests vesa driver probably will work.
    in case of error
    adjust resolution of the screen .

    i 'm wrong ?

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spawn View Post
    but for tests vesa driver probably will work.
    in case of error
    adjust resolution of the screen .

    i 'm wrong ?
    Yea, vesa will probably work. That dell laptop has a not normal resolution though, so it might not look too good.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I'[m having the same issue (same errors) on an HP compaq 6715e. Wierd as BT3 works on my Dells no problem...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •