Thread: Bt2+bcm4311=pwr-1?

Just burned his ISO

Default Bt2+bcm4311=pwr-1?

Hey, im fairly new to Linux (also fairly interested) im having a problem, i've searched all over and havent really found an answer.

i'm using a dell inspiron 1521 with a built in BCM4311 and im using Backtrack2 because i had too much trouble getting bt3 to work. (i know about the bcm43xx issues)

heres the symptom:
    the card seems to be compatible, i can put it into monitor mode and all, but when i airodump-ng all of the networks that show up are -1 pwr, including my own. it dosent matter how far or close i am to the router it stays at -1 for all networks. what does this mean and how can i fix it?

Edit:
    i got bt3 working just fine from usb drive (it wouldnt work from cd) but the problem persists only now instead of -1's the pwr level on all the networks is 0

Just burned his ISO

hmm, I assume it is, as you said, bcm43xx issue, I also have one of those in my laptop, and I couldn't get it work correctly also, so I bought Edimax EW 7318 and it works quite well, and it's not expensive at all..
    So my suggestion to you is, buy some "linux friendly" card
    Other than that I can't help you out, maybe someone will..

Just burned his ISO

Thanks, yes I may end up trying a different card but I would like to just use the built in if at all possible.maybe someone else has the solution?

Quote Originally Posted by NFrank89 View Post
    heres the symptom:
    the card seems to be compatible, i can put it into monitor mode and all, but when i airodump-ng all of the networks that show up are -1 pwr, including my own. it dosent matter how far or close i am to the router it stays at -1 for all networks. what does this mean and how can i fix it?
    This is nothing to be alarmed about, it is simply because the bcm43xx driver does not support signal strength readings from your card.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

Just burned his ISO