Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: [ASK] Reinstall LILO after install XP

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default [ASK] Reinstall LILO after install XP

    What can i do?

    I try do this, but it's not work:
    - boot from live cd
    - chroot /mnt/sda1 <-- my BT3 partition (have alert: egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory)
    - lilo <-- have error: Fatal: raid_setup: stat("/dev/sda")

    Somebody help me... Thanks.

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    First of all you have to pass a shell argument to chroot so it would look like this

    bt~#chroot /dev/sda1 /bin/bash

    Don't worry about the error. If you prompt changes to bt/- or something like that you are in your chroot enviorment.

    Then edit lilo to suit your needs and run

    bt~#lilo -v

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    First of all you have to pass a shell argument to chroot so it would look like this

    bt~#chroot /dev/sda1 /bin/bash

    Don't worry about the error. If you prompt changes to bt/- or something like that you are in your chroot enviorment.

    Then edit lilo to suit your needs and run

    bt~#lilo -v
    I try this:
    Code:
    chroot /dev/sda1 /bin/bash
    chroot: cannot change root directory to /dev/sda1: Not a directory
    
    chroot /mnt/sda1 /bin/bash
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    
    lilo -v
    Fatal: raid_setup: stat("/dev/sda")
    Thats not work, any else?

    btw, thx for the reply.

  4. #4
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by odod1985 View Post
    I try this:
    Code:
    chroot /dev/sda1 /bin/bash
    chroot: cannot change root directory to /dev/sda1: Not a directory
    
    chroot /mnt/sda1 /bin/bash
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    
    lilo -v
    Fatal: raid_setup: stat("/dev/sda")
    Thats not work, any else?

    btw, thx for the reply.
    Its also not work for me..i try search and found the answer in this forum...here is what i did..

    bt~#nano /etc/lilo.conf

    bt~#lilo -v

    It work for me..hope this will help...

  5. #5
    uk.hackers
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    First of all you have to pass a shell argument to chroot so it would look like this

    bt~#chroot /dev/sda1 /bin/bash

    Don't worry about the error. If you prompt changes to bt/- or something like that you are in your chroot enviorment.

    Then edit lilo to suit your needs and run

    bt~#lilo -v
    check out www.google.com

  6. #6
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uk.hackers View Post
    check out www.google.com
    Making references to other forums is not exactly helpful, especially when double posted, and even more so when the site doesn't even work:
    The connection has timed out
    The server at this site is taking too long to respond.
    Infraction given for double posting, be forewarned that further such posts will be regarded as spam.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rokrmc View Post
    Its also not work for me..i try search and found the answer in this forum...here is what i did..

    bt~#nano /etc/lilo.conf

    bt~#lilo -v

    It work for me..hope this will help...
    This not work for Me

    Somebody help me...

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    You have done something wrong on your end. My commands should have worked if indeed bt3 is installed at hda1 correctly.

    There is no point in doing this
    bt~#nano /etc/lilo.conf

    bt~#lilo -v
    Untill you are not in the root enviorment of the live cd and you are IN the root enviorment of the hard drive install.

    Once again if your bt is installed in hda1 you must chroot. If you cant get that going I'm not sure what to tell you.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Code:
    chroot /mnt/sda1 /bin/bash <-- My installation BT3 in /dev/sda1
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    egrep: /proc/cmdline: No such file or Directory
    
    nano /etc/lilo.conf <-- Just to check my LILO config
    
    lilo
    Fatal: raid_setup: stat("/dev/sda") <-- Error Message
    
    cd /proc
    
    ls -l
    0 <-- Empty
    What can i do to fix this problem?

  10. #10
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    The problem is you dont understand linux. Looking at your lilo.conf this way..

    nano /etc/lilo.conf shows you the one on the live cd and not the one in your install. Until you gather some basic linux skills I'm afraid there is not much I can do. More importantly if you are having trouble understanding this then you are in alittle over your head with backtrack.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •