Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Capturing WPA handshake question

  1. #1
    new2bt3
    Guest

    Default Capturing WPA handshake question

    when using the airodump/aireplay method of capturing the WPA handshake I keep getting the target bssid shows as the captured handshake in the upper right corner of airodump. It does not show up right away, after a minute or two, but with many WPA routers I have tested this on when it grabs the handshake it is always the bssid of the target AP. Im not getting why this is happening??

    Using an Atheros card, and using the latest aircrack suite.


    I read many threads and could not find this issue, so forgive me if I over say it somewhere.

  2. #2
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Run the wireshark and use this filter
    eapol.keydes.type==2
    and let client authenticate with AP or deauth the client,when he tries to re-authenticate you will get 4 way handshake.one more method is run airodump in one window and use aireplay-ng to deauth the station.when station will try to reauth.you will be able to capture 4 way handshake completely in airodump window in top-right corner.if stil problem persist,tell what all commands you are using.

  3. #3
    new2bt3
    Guest

    Default

    Run the wireshark and use this filter
    eapol.keydes.type==2
    and let client authenticate with AP or deauth the client,when he tries to re-authenticate you will get 4 way handshake.
    This did not work for me.




    Disregard this thread, displaying the target AP is confirming the captured handshake. I was not sure if thats what is was to show or not.

  4. #4
    new2bt3
    Guest

    Default

    Deleted for being a stupid question

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11

    Default

    hm it doesnt work 4 me 2
    i'm still a rookie using backtrack.
    i tried to caputre an handshake.. but i don't get it.
    i using BT2 with a dlink dwl g520 (TI chip) runs with ASX111
    i see the ap mac and the client one.

    can someone help me plz.
    thanks a lot

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    Use spoonwep to automate the handhske capture
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    Use spoonwep to automate the handhske capture
    SpoonWPA.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    I actually did mean spoonwep Tron, it has a deauth feature on it and stores the handshke in its dump file. I have not yet even used spoonwpa. :-o EDIT Sorry Shamen
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  9. #9
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    I actually did mean spoonwep Tron, it has a deauth feature on it and stores the handshke in its dump file. I have not yet even used spoonwpa. :-o EDIT Sorry Shamen
    spoonwep is able to deauth clients and get 4 way handshake??then what for spoonwpa is?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by secure_it View Post
    spoonwep is able to deauth clients and get 4 way handshake??then what for spoonwpa is?
    Well both are using the aircrack-ng suite to do all the work so it is only natural that SpoonWEP will capture the handshake and report this just as SpoonWPA. However, SpoonWEP naturally will not support the dictionary attacks etc. which is why I thought killadaninja was thinking of SpoonWPA in his earlier post.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •