Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: awus036h wep connect internet

  1. #1
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default connect to internet backtrack

    Below are examples of how to connect to your network in backtrack 3

    This is how to connect using wep or open encryption (with dhcp enabled) <<<<< MOST USERS
    Remove all brackets from the following, substituting (dev) with your interface e.g wlan0, ath0

    1. airmon-ng stop (dev)

    2. rm /etc/dhcpc/*

    3. ifconfig (dev) up

    4. iwconfig (dev) ap (bssid)

    5. iwconfig (dev) key (wep key) LEAVE THIS STEP OUT IF YOUR NETWORK IS OPEN

    6. dhcpcd (dev)




    This is how to connect using wep or open encryption (without dhcp enabled)
    Remove all brackets from the following, substituting (dev) with your interface e.g wlan0, ath0


    1. airmon-ng stop (dev)

    2. rm /etc/dhcpc/*

    3. ifconfig (dev) up

    4. iwconfig (dev) ap (bssid)

    5. iwconfig (dev) key (wep key) LEAVE THIS STEP OUT IF YOUR NETWORK IS OPEN

    6. ifconfig (dev) 192.168.1.10 netmask 255.255.255.0

    7. route add default gw 192.168.1.1

    Now if you want to add a dns server

    8. Open file /etc/resolve.conf

    You should see something like this:-

    search localhost.localdomain

    9. Add your Primary and Secondary Domain Name server (DNS) ip at the end of the file so it should look like this:-

    search localhost.localdomain
    nameserver 208.67.222.222
    nameserver 208.67.220.220


    10. Now save and close the file



    This is how to connect using WPA2 Personal TKIP+AES (with dhcp enabled)

    1. airmon-ng stop (dev)

    2. rm /etc/dhcpc/*

    3. Open this file /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf, copy and paste the following


    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    ap_scan=1

    network={
    ssid="THE NAME OF YOUR NETWORK"
    proto=RSN
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    group=CCMP TKIP
    psk="YOUR WPA KEY"
    }


    replace THE NAME OF YOUR NETWORK with the name of your network, e.g bt-homehub, and replace YOUR WPA KEY with your Passphrase e.g password1

    5. Now save it.

    In a new shell write

    6. ifconfig (dev) up

    7. iwconfig (dev) mode Managed

    8. chmod 755 /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    9. wpa_supplicant -w -Dwext -i(dev) -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf <<< change (dev) to your device remove bracket but do not put a space e.g -iwlan0

    Now you will see some action in this shell, just leave it

    open a new shell, write

    10. dhcpcd (dev) <<<<<< remove brackets and insert your device eg dhcpcd wlan0




    This is how to connect using WPA2 Personal TKIP+AES (without dhcp enabled)

    Copy steps 1-9 above but instead of entering step 10 from above start with this new step 10

    10. ifconfig (dev) 192.168.1.10 netmask 255.255.255.0

    11. route add default gw 192.168.1.1

    Now if you want to add a dns server

    Open file /etc/resolve.conf

    You should see something like this:-

    search localhost.localdomain

    Add your Primary and Secondary Domain Name server (DNS) ip at the end of the file and it should look like this:-

    search localhost.localdomain
    nameserver 888.888.888.888
    nameserver 888.888.888.999
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  2. #2
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    I would like to say that if people are n00b enough to connect to internet then I think instead trying hands on backtrack 3 they should go for some easy user friendly distro like fedora core or mandrake or ubuntu.

  3. #3
    Junior Member imported_fridash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default

    you were a NOOB once ... dont you ever forget it

    and a noob stays a noob just for so long ...

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    Looks like this quick guide helped someone already Secure. Secure I know what backtrack is ment for , you know what backtrack is ment for, I agree with you - certain people that download it however DO NOT. How long are people going to stay on any linux dist if they dont even know how to connect to the internet and their only taste of it was BT? I am guilty of telling people to try an easier distro myself, however when you think about it constently promoting this message is not helping the BT community grow
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  5. #5
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by fridash View Post
    you were a NOOB once ... dont you ever forget it

    and a noob stays a noob just for so long ...
    I was not that much n00b to try hands on backtrack 2/3 directly.I learned from fedora core 5 first then I came to know about Slackware and backtrack 3.n00b in the sense,I told because everyone wants to start basics from backtrack 3 as its not a normal home using distro.you must understand the words.hope you got what I was referring.

  6. #6
    Junior Member imported_fridash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default

    thats cool secure it but i get it ovcourse
    i know its hard but you understand that , its fun when its hard , and chalanging

    plus i use bt3 for spicific things that i cant get with any linux distro

    its like a tool in my toolbox among many other powerful tools

    i use it in my studies .. and need to explore and understsnd the net infstracture

    ps i dident realy need the alfa instroctins

    it works great

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default

    Secure like I said before I agree with you BT is not an everyday home users distro. But shell commands are no harder to learn than on any other linux distro. I did not nessercerily write it for pure noobs, it was just the quickest and easiest way and I had not seen it here before.
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Nice post... thats funny you made this because I just got my Alfa yesterday and did a search of this exact topic right here because the Alfa keeps making wireless assistant crash lol...
    Go jump off a bridge ;)

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    267

    Default

    Thanks, this was an easy summary of what the interwebs told me about connecting to WEP through the commandline.

    Better than the horribly buggy wifi assistant

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •