Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: need 8 char A-Z wordlist

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by etech9 View Post
    say i wanted certain characters to be the same all the way through which would shorten the process quite somewhat.
    Trust me. JTR can do that. JTR is about as advance as it gets; you just have to play around with the rules file (can't remember the exact name). If you're still looking for a solution to what ever question you began to ask, take a look at a good JTR rules tutorial. You can just about generate any word list you could possibly think of, given enough time and space.

  2. #12
    Junior Member imported_etech9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    48

    Default

    does anyone know how to do this with JTR. so many rules, so many options. in the john.conf right?
    BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU!!!

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Check out http://www.openwall.com/john/doc/RULES.shtml.

    I have a great book with a tutorial that I'll look at and let you know if it has anything valuable to your problem. I'll take another look at what you want and let you know.

  4. #14
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    outside chicago, il
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ipndrmath View Post
    Check out http://www.openwall.com/john/doc/RULES.shtml.

    I have a great book with a tutorial that I'll look at and let you know if it has anything valuable to your problem. I'll take another look at what you want and let you know.
    John is a very good program, but in this type of problem I find it difficult to use. So I switch tools. I use mdcrack under wine. But after reading the thread I am not what you need other than an 8 character wordlist. What is the wordlist going to be used for?
    I like the bleeding edge, but I don't like blood loss

  5. #15
    Junior Member imported_etech9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    48

    Default

    many of my friends have the SKY package. including the wireless router ;-)
    They asked me to try and crack their WPA.
    SKY by default as im aware of, uses 8 char A-Z.

    hxxp://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=15965&highlight=default+wpa+key
    i was also interested in tiscali, this is the reason for certain characters being the same throughout, although this would be hex 12 char.
    BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU!!!

  6. #16
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Couldn't you just use crunch ?

    Code:
    /pentest/password/crunch <from-length> <to-length> <charset> &> wordlist.txt
    If needing a pre-fix of say 123 for an 8 character wordlist then ;

    Code:
    /pentest/password/crunch 8 8 ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ -t 123@@@@@ &> wordlist.txt

  7. #17
    Junior Member imported_etech9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    48

    Default

    thanks TAPE! spot on. im still n00b :-P

    no man page for crunch! :-( ??
    BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU!!!

  8. #18
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Its not me, its Tron who deserves any and all credit there

    But glad it helps !

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default Made one

    Hi Etch... I didn't see this post when I added mine in the newbie section. I wrote a small C code which which generate the lists you require. It will generate them in small sections so that you can do a bit at a time. It will tyake about 54 hours to generate them all.

    see:

    forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=20571

  10. #20
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by etech9 View Post
    thanks TAPE! spot on. im still n00b :-P

    no man page for crunch! :-( ??
    Did you try "crunch --help", "crunch -h", "crunch -?", "crunch" (with no parameters), or similar?
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •