Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cannot access my lan/internet (can't find eth0)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question Cannot access my lan/internet (can't find eth0)

    I wrongly assumed that backtrack (on a LiveCD) would be able to automatically detect my wired Ethernet connection, which is connected to a Netgear RP614v2 router, which is inturn connected to a (cable) Motorola SB5100 cable modem.

    Back track booted up fine. Everything worked until I tried to access both my lan and the internet (through firefox/konq). I could not access either.

    I then went to console and typed;

    ifconfig -a

    to see a list of devices

    The only device found was lo. Which was not a way to connect to my router or the internet. I then looked up network.sh and xatar's how to configure network interfaces. (Can't paste the sites new user D

    Neither did anything, no eth0 was detected, or pan0 for that matter.

    I went back to my friendly Ubuntu 8.10, and ran ifconfig -a again, and have pasted the results below. BTW my router/lan/internet work fine on ubuntu/vista.

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1c:c0:28:50:72
    inet addr:192.168.0.2 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21c:c0ff:fe28:5072/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1997 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2465 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:1724753 (1.7 MB) TX bytes:359373 (359.3 KB)
    Memory:a3200000-a3220000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:98 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:98 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:7812 (7.8 KB) TX bytes:7812 (7.8 KB)

    pan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr f6:46:a6:1f:0c:3e
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    Any ideas would be appreciated. And Thorn if you answer this, don't cut me down and tell me to switch distros.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    paste your lspci and lspci -n output. Its probably a new chipset that hasn't been added on, etc.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question Lspci -nn

    Quote Originally Posted by hatake_kakashi View Post
    paste your lspci and lspci -n output. Its probably a new chipset that hasn't been added on, etc.
    Following is lspci -nn of the ethernet (Textual + Numerical IDs);

    00:19.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection [8086:294c] (rev 02)

    Everything after/before this is the Motherboard ,PCI, USB, Audio, IDE, Firewire - not relevant unless you say so.

    Thanks for the fast reply.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    According to this: http://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/E1000E.html it seems like you will need to upgrade the kernel to use the ethernet device.

  5. #5
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Yup intel e1000 gigabit LAN Cards are mentioned in kernel 2.6.28 and you need to manually select & compile them for working as they are by default not selected.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for the help, I'll go look up how to update the kernel. Tell you the results,

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    The way I see it, after searching throughout google/backtrack forums, the only way to upgrade your kernel easily would be on a HDD install. Apparently, it would be dificult to create one in a LiveCD format - driver issues. BT3 still a useful tool, but I have neither the experience neccessary to rebuild a kernel for a liveCD that won't create a whole host of new problems. I'll hold out until BT4 beta (long wait), hopefully the kernel will be updated, and more of BT3 bugs fixed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •