Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: BT3-final works great on TOSHIBA NB100

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default BT3-final works great on TOSHIBA NB100

    Hi,

    I am reporting here, that BT3-final runs great on TOSHIBA NB100
    (eee-size PC).
    Dual-boot by Win-XP (operating-system-selection during boot) with Win-XP
    and BT3 HDD-life-install (sda3) +sda4 (data) for changes -> no additional
    bootloader like GRUB or LILO!

    Only problem was stall during boot (also at USB-live) during HDD detection.
    Solution is additional parameter " irqpoll " in /boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg

    Display is set to " vga=0xF5 "

    Wifi-device is reported by WinXP as ATHEROS AR5700EG and by BT3/SLAX
    as AR5006 devive.
    Anyhow: Works great -out of the box- (ath0/ath1/wifi0) on MONITOR -mode
    as well as INJECTION -mode.

    Greetz: SP

  2. #2
    y0ush4
    Guest

    Default

    Bro i want the same thing i want to install in my XP sp2 preloded PC i have already downloaded the BT3_USB.ISO i want dual booting with XP please give me the all step to do it.

    BTW i am using BT3 from my USB drive but i realized that i am addicted to it so i want it on my HDD

    Please help me out

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    Should note this down in the HCL:Laptops

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by y0ush4 View Post
    Bro i want the same thing i want to install in my XP sp2 preloded PC i have already downloaded the BT3_USB.ISO i want dual booting with XP please give me the all step to do it.

    BTW i am using BT3 from my USB drive but i realized that i am addicted to it so i want it on my HDD

    Please help me out
    BT3 ON HDD WITH XP AND WITHOUT EXTRA BOOTLOADER:

    Here is my howto (sorry for this forum-place but as a stupid newbie I am only allowed to post it here ;-)....

    For security reasons save your complete win-installation incl. boot-sector to a
    disk-image with appropriate program like "ghost" etc. Dont forget to set the
    "incl. boot-sector-option" when saving! To save space, choose high com-
    pression. Ex: the complete hdd with fresh win-xp on 3 partitions incl. some
    software takes about 3,5GB compressed image. More takes more ;-)

    Prepare your hdd with free space behind the xp-partitions. Use programs
    to resize or delete all partitions on hdd and copy the above image back to
    it .... with the option to a reduced space (to get free space).
    Another way may be deleting and creating smaller extended xp-partitions.

    Get the freeware BOOTPART 2.60 and copy it to xp-drive c into subdir "bootfile".
    It only modifies your boot.ini a little bit but no changes on mbr!
    Try to understand how it works... in my case WinXP is on C (prim NTFS and
    D,E on extended partition). If successful.. the modified boot.ini looks like this:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=5
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /forceresetreg
    C:\bootfile\BOOTLINX.BIN="SLAX/ BackTrack 3"

    Create a new (primary) partition at the beginning of the free space and format it to
    fat32 (in my case @2gigs drive f ==sda3 for BT3 live). Copy BT-live files from
    usb-stick to that new drive.

    Now reboot on BT3 usb and create with fdisk/qpart a new primary linux partition
    (in my case sda4 for data and changes). You will now have 3 primary partitions
    on your hdd!

    Reboot usb-live and format sda4 with mkfs.ext2 to ext2 to have the correct structure
    on it. Now create on sda4 some folders like "changes" etc. Set all rights on sda3+4
    to "rw" for all users.

    Cd to /dev/sda3/boot/syslinux and run syslinux to make sda3 bootable.
    (DOS-version had no success here, therefore I used the BT3/Slax side).

    Modify your /boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg to your needs and dont forget to add
    "changes=/dev/sda4 rw" for BT3 changes. Mine looks like this:
    ...
    LABEL startx1
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode (VESA KDE with changes irqpoll)
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND vga=0xF05 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw changes=/dev/sda4/ rw autoexec=kdm irqpoll
    ...

    Reboot to windows and (if you have luck) you will be prompted to choose winxp
    or backtrack.

    If you cannot boot, please check first partion should be active and visible as well
    as sda3+4. If no success, please use recovery-cd, option "R" to fix mbr and fix-
    boot to reactivate billyboy`s xp ;-)

    Good luck and sorry if there are some mistakes above, because I am an old
    ger-man and forget a lot ;-)

  5. #5
    y0ush4
    Guest

    Default

    i have 3 partitions C: which i have Xp on it & D: which has some data and E: which has 50gb of free space in it i want to setup BT3 in my E with all feautes llike save or install somthing which i cant do in USB DRIVE :-( and also cant i make new partions including linux within xp via Acronis*Disk Director Server?

    Btw
    1=C:\bootfile\BOOTLINX.BIN="SLAX/ BackTrack 3" <----from where the bootlinx.bin came from?


    2=Cd to /dev/sda3/boot/syslinux and run syslinux to make sda3 bootable.
    (DOS-version had no success here, therefore I used the BT3/Slax side).


    explain this step how to run the slax?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by y0ush4 View Post
    i have 3 partitions C: which i have Xp on it & D:

    ...
    Btw
    1=C:\bootfile\BOOTLINX.BIN="SLAX/ BackTrack 3" <----from where the bootlinx.bin came from?

    2=Cd to /dev/sda3/boot/syslinux and run syslinux to make sda3 bootable.
    (DOS-version had no success here, therefore I used the BT3/Slax side).


    explain this step how to run the slax?
    1) pse RTFM (Read The ****ing Manual) of that boot.ini-editor

    at winimage url (com) for bootpart...

    (bootlinx.bin is created by above program)

    2) pse get familiar with this:

    wiki about SYSLINUX:

    "
    Linux

    syslinux [-s] [-o offset] [DeviceOrImage]
    syslinux /dev/fd0


    The -o option (if specified) is used with a disk image file and specifies the byte offset of the filesystem image in the file.

    How do I Configure SYSLINUX?
    All the configurable defaults in SYSLINUX can be changed by putting a file called SYSLINUX.CFG in the root directory of the disk. The config file can also be placed in the following subdirectories: /boot/ /syslinux/ or /boot/syslinux. This is a text file in either UNIX or DOS format, containing one or more of the keywords listed below. Case is insensitive for keywords; upper case is used here to indicate that a word should be typed verbatim.

    Here is a simple example SYSLINUX.CFG file, with one entry to boot a Linux kernel:

    DEFAULT linux
    LABEL linux
    SAY Now booting the kernel from SYSLINUX...
    KERNEL vmlinuz.img
    APPEND ro root=/dev/sda1 initrd=initrd.img
    ...
    "
    Okay???

    What is the problem right now??? Please let us close this non-NB100
    related discussion here. OK?

    Greez: SP

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    moin
    is the display to set " vga=0xF5 " or "vga=0xF05"
    I´ve the same netbook with BT3,but startx dont run
    only if i use"fixvesa" command before and only in 800x600
    did u get it to work with 1024x600 ?
    if yes could u post your xorg.conf plz?

    edit:The matter has resolved with hippocrates "901_net_gfx.lzm" file
    thx hippocrates !!

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default KPPP and backtrack

    hi everyone, i've the same pc (toshiba nb100) and tried to run kppp to get the 3g connection work with my carrier, but i don't know why it still doesn't work...seems like i have to set something, does someone know howto? It usuallly works within winxp and i'm definitely new to linux!
    Thank you all!

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default to hippocrates and Kn0pex

    hi! Can u send the file you are using to get bt work on nb100 please? I use fixvesa to make it work still now. Thanks!

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Wireless not detected

    Hi guys,

    I am a new to backtrack but I have been successful using it on a desktop but I cannot get it working on a NB100. Using the previous posts I was able to modify the syslinux.cfg which enabled the system to boot properly. I am now stuck with the error "no usable wireless device found". I have probably missed something really simple but I would appreciate any advice you can give me.

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •