Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 'startx' doesn't work for others than root

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default [SOLVED] 'startx' doesn't work for others than root

    Hi,

    I've installed BT3USB on an USB thumb drive. While 'startx' works when I'm logged in as root, I get an error message when I'm logged in as an ordinary user.

    "Fatal server error:
    Cannot move old log file ("/var/log/Xorg.0.log" to "/var/log/Xorg.0.log.old"

    giving up.
    xinit: No such file or directory (errno2): unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server errror."

    Can anybody give a hint whats wrong here?

    Thanks in advance.


    The MoD

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    306

    Default

    Try that:

    Code:
    chmod +s /usr/bin/X11/Xorg
    Be sensitive in choosing where you ask your question. You are likely to be ignored, or written off as a loser, if you:

    * post your question to a forum where it's off topic
    * post a very elementary question to a forum where advanced technical questions are expected, or vice-versa
    * cross-post to too many different newsgroups
    * post a personal e-mail to somebody who is neither an acquaintance of yours nor personally responsible for solving your problem

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs up

    Hi terminal86,

    thx a lot. It works.

    Would never have appeared to me to change settings in /usr/bin/X11 if the error message says something about /var/log ...


    The MoD

  4. #4
    Junior Member Amlord1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The MoD View Post
    Hi,

    I've installed BT3USB on an USB thumb drive. While 'startx' works when I'm logged in as root, I get an error message when I'm logged in as an ordinary user.

    "Fatal server error:
    Cannot move old log file ("/var/log/Xorg.0.log" to "/var/log/Xorg.0.log.old"

    giving up.
    xinit: No such file or directory (errno2): unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server errror."

    Can anybody give a hint whats wrong here?

    Thanks in advance.


    The MoD
    Wow, that's quite interesting. I didn't even know you could log into an "ordinary user"

    Anyways, you're having an error with the graphics settings?
    Originally Posted by pureh@te
    You may think its stupid but when you are posting online sometimes spelling, grammar and thought put into the content of your posts is the only thing people have to measure you by and to determine the level of seriousness they should give you. So with that in mind I'd say "Yes" its pretty important.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Amlord1,

    yes, you can log in as an 'ordinary user'. If you create one. You can do so as root. The command is 'useradd'. However, this makes only sence on a 'real' installation, I think.

    No, I ***HAD*** a problem starting X (KDE). But its already solved.


    The MoD

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    is "fixvesa" working?

    fixvesa -> startx

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    never tested 'fixvesa'.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Amlord1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The MoD View Post
    never tested 'fixvesa'.
    Glad problem is solved. Graphics mode is still mot working for me... -.- Oh well. Maybe I'll find out how to fix it later.
    Originally Posted by pureh@te
    You may think its stupid but when you are posting online sometimes spelling, grammar and thought put into the content of your posts is the only thing people have to measure you by and to determine the level of seriousness they should give you. So with that in mind I'd say "Yes" its pretty important.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by terminal86 View Post
    Try that:

    Code:
    chmod +s /usr/bin/X11/Xorg
    thx,resolved!!

  10. #10
    Junior Member Rhuwme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrtank View Post
    is "fixvesa" working?

    fixvesa -> startx
    I know this is a tad bit dated, but I just wanted to share with all:

    I tried booting BT3 on my AAo from an external CD drive here at work. Went through fine, logged in, and then I tried startx. I was coming back with the "unable to connect to X server" error. Crap! I'm too new at this to be able to figure it out. So I searched Anywayz, I typed in fixvesa and then startx: at first, the screen was like , but then sure enough kde came up .

    Just wanted to let all the other newbs like myself that search works! And also thank you mrtank for the fixvesa command. maybe now I can get this jump drive partitioned properly...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •