Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Fast-Track not updating?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    415
    Posts
    19

    Default Fast-Track not updating?

    Okay, so i updated fast track, supposedly, i have backtrack 3 installed to my pc

    So it says


    *** FreeTDS and PYMMSQL are installed. (Check) ***
    *** PExpect is installed. (Check) ***
    *** ClientForm is installed. (Check) ***
    *** Psyco is installed. (Check) ***
    *** Beautiful Soup is installed. (Check) ***
    *** PyMills is installed. (Check) ***

    Also ensure ProFTP, WinEXE, and SQLite3 is installed from
    the Updates/Installation menu.


    And yet when i navigate to the install menu




    Fast-Track Installations

    * Represents Dependencies for specific tools
    in Fast-Track

    1. Install Slapt-Get
    2. Install Everything:
    * FreeTDS, PYMSSQL
    * PExpect
    * Sqlite3
    * ProFTPD
    * ClientForm
    3. Return to Main Menu



    I have everything installed, and the newest fast track, ive rebooted several times now, someone want to help me?

    Updating Fast-Track, please wait....

    Checking for the new versions of Fast-Track...

    Update MD5 SUM: f66139f1ec8d1d9fdf75d83186f62728
    Current MD5 SUM: f66139f1ec8d1d9fdf75d83186f62728

    You are up-to-date with the latest Fast-Track version.

  2. #2
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cr0wZz View Post
    Okay, so i updated fast track, supposedly, i have backtrack 3 installed to my pc

    So it says


    *** FreeTDS and PYMMSQL are installed. (Check) ***
    *** PExpect is installed. (Check) ***
    *** ClientForm is installed. (Check) ***
    *** Psyco is installed. (Check) ***
    *** Beautiful Soup is installed. (Check) ***
    *** PyMills is installed. (Check) ***

    Also ensure ProFTP, WinEXE, and SQLite3 is installed from
    the Updates/Installation menu.


    And yet when i navigate to the install menu




    Fast-Track Installations

    * Represents Dependencies for specific tools
    in Fast-Track

    1. Install Slapt-Get
    2. Install Everything:
    * FreeTDS, PYMSSQL
    * PExpect
    * Sqlite3
    * ProFTPD
    * ClientForm
    3. Return to Main Menu



    I have everything installed, and the newest fast track, ive rebooted several times now, someone want to help me?

    Updating Fast-Track, please wait....

    Checking for the new versions of Fast-Track...

    Update MD5 SUM: f66139f1ec8d1d9fdf75d83186f62728
    Current MD5 SUM: f66139f1ec8d1d9fdf75d83186f62728

    You are up-to-date with the latest Fast-Track version.
    I don't understand your point. It shows you as having all dependencies updated. That installation menu has those options hard-coded into it. It's not telling you that they aren't installed.



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    415
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Yes well im looking to install winhexe and sqlite3, yet they wont show up?

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Did you go to the update menu and install the programs your missing? You don't show that at all.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    415
    Posts
    19

    Default

    update menu

    Enter a number to update

    1. Update Fast-Track
    2. Metasploit 3 Update
    3. Aircrack-NG Update
    4. Nikto Plugin Update
    5. W3AF Update
    6. SQLMap Update
    7. Installation Menu
    8. Update Everything
    9. Return to Main Menu



    Enter your choice:

    (1) Update SlackWare (slapt-get --update --upgrade --ignore-excludes)
    (2) Install Slapt-Get

    Enter your choice here: 1
    Updating Slax...

    [cant post links, so they would go here]


    Retrieving package data
    Sources failed to download, correct sources and rerun --update
    Reading Package Lists... Failed to open package_data
    package_data: No such file or directory
    Perhaps you want to run --update?
    Updating done...returning to main menu...


    slackware wont update either

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Thats updating the whole distro via slapt-get which has nothing to do with fast-track. The reason that wont work is because your slapt-getrc file is trying to get 10.1 downloads and most likely the sources are wrong. You will have to edit that fiole manually. There are quite a few threads on the subject.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    415
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    Thats updating the whole distro via slapt-get which has nothing to do with fast-track. The reason that wont work is because your slapt-getrc file is trying to get 10.1 downloads and most likely the sources are wrong. You will have to edit that fiole manually. There are quite a few threads on the subject.


    crap, couldnt i just download a newer release of BT3 and install?

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    If you have bt3 final thats the newest release. Perhaps we could help you better if you told us exactly what you are trying to accomplish.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    415
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I am trying to install winexe and pysqlite, really, im using this network to mess around with another couple windows computers, so i need to get ethernet drivers too. I havent messed with backtrack in ages, im not sure if installed it right, i did follow every step you said, now its just not updating, perhaps i could make a slax module to save stuff to when i login? its worth a shot

  10. #10
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    for ethernet just do this

    modprobe e100
    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhcpcd eth0


    It looks like you have all the fast-track deps installed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •