Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: IP.Board 2.3.5 Exploit.

  1. #1
    BOSS23
    Guest

    Default IP.Board 2.3.5 Exploit.

    Okay, I run a forum that runes version 2.3.5. I have found that here is an exploit for that version. I downloaded the exploit but I need to know how can I test the exploit on my forums? I have backtrack and metasploit, etc. How can I test it? Thanks in advance
    -B0$$

  2. #2
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BOSS23 View Post
    Okay, I run a forum that runes version 2.3.5. I have found that here is an exploit for that version. I downloaded the exploit but I need to know how can I test the exploit on my forums? I have backtrack and metasploit, etc. How can I test it? Thanks in advance
    -B0$$
    By RTFM and not asking us to hold your hand. Show us that you can try to help yourself and then if you are having legitimate issues we will help.



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  3. #3
    BOSS23
    Guest

    Default

    I tried pasting the code into a text file and putting it in exploits folder but it doesnt load in metasploit. I'm thinking that I need to compile is somehow to use it w/ autopwn/metasploit

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    well with out seeing the code we cant tell you much now can we? You should probably do a little research though because you cant just put any old exploit in the meatsploit folder and expect it to work. It depends on the language that the exploit is coded in which determines how it is executed. Metasploit is coded in ruby so you would need a .rb file to use with metasploit.

  5. #5
    BOSS23
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    well with out seeing the code we cant tell you much now can we? You should probably do a little research though because you cant just put any old exploit in the meatsploit folder and expect it to work. It depends on the language that the exploit is coded in which determines how it is executed. Metasploit is coded in ruby so you would need a .rb file to use with metasploit.
    Ok here is the link to the exploit


    securityfocus.com/archive/1/495841

    I have tried copying to a text file and changing the extension to .rb and it would show up in metasploit ,but as an error. I would search more thoroughly but someone threatened my forum and I need to quickly make sure its not vulnerable

  6. #6
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BOSS23 View Post
    Ok here is the link to the exploit


    securityfocus.com/archive/1/495841

    I have tried copying to a text file and changing the extension to .rb and it would show up in metasploit ,but as an error. I would search more thoroughly but someone threatened my forum and I need to quickly make sure its not vulnerable
    Why don't you just run the patch and not worry about it, if it indeed is your forum. Breaking in will do nothing for you, even if it is vulnerable. If it is a possibility, patch it. What harm could it do if it isn't?



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  7. #7
    BOSS23
    Guest

    Default

    No I wanted to test it to make sure that it is not vulnerable anymore, thats all. It's not a big deal, they are releasing a new version soon I believe. I would still like to know how to do this if possible. If you don't want to give me step by step, then point me in the right direction I guess.

  8. #8
    Moderator KMDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BOSS23 View Post
    Ok here is the link to the exploit


    securityfocus.com/archive/1/495841

    I have tried copying to a text file and changing the extension to .rb and it would show up in metasploit ,but as an error. I would search more thoroughly but someone threatened my forum and I need to quickly make sure its not vulnerable
    That somehow sounds very familiar. Maybe you should have used the search function before to find this thread. You aren't mccouch, are you?

    Strange, that you asked here about how to hack avhackers.com.

    And it is a great coincidence, that they are running that IP Board version.
    Tiocfaidh ár lá

  9. #9
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    That somehow sounds very familiar. Maybe you should have used the search function before to find this thread. You aren't mccouch, are you?

    Strange, that you asked here about how to hack avhackers.com.

    And it is a great coincidence, that they are running that IP Board version.
    WOW. Good catch KM.

    @mccouchclone: Coincidence? I think not. You're a goner iTard. Try again......



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  10. #10
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KMDave View Post
    You aren't mccouch, are you?

    Strange, that you asked here about how to hack avhackers.com.

    And it is a great coincidence, that they are running that IP Board version.
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowKill View Post
    WOW. Good catch KM.

    @mccouchclone: Coincidence? I think not. You're a goner iTard. Try again......
    Good call guys!
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •