Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Anyone ever use WICD in BT3 or even BT2?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default Anyone ever use WICD in BT3 or even BT2?

    Hello,

    There is a program called wicd which is a connection manager that is a very good program for seeing and connecting to wireless AP via a GUI. I live on a college campus that is wireless with 802.11n and need a good Gui interface like network manager to be able to connect to the different AP's as I travel around campus. Wicd has worked well for me in Ubuntu before. I was wondering if anyone has ever successfully installed it on BT3 or BT2 and if so, would please give the steps they took to get it to work. I tried installing it, but am stuck in dependency hell. Thank in advance to anyone the might be of assistance .

  2. #2
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  3. #3
    Member imported_rokrmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Or..........

    bt ~ # slapt-get --install wifi-radar

    Edit in the k-menu-internet-wireless tool (Wifi-Radar) (right click-edit item-Command change to wifi-radar)

  4. #4
    Junior Member drpepperONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Hi ravalox.

    download the wicd package for slack

    Code:
    wget http://repository.slacky.eu/slackware-12.0/network/wicd/1.4.1/wicd-1.4.1-i486-2mch.tgz

    Install dbus package for python

    Code:
    slapt-get --install dbus-python-0.82.4-i486-1sl

    Install wicd package:

    Code:
    installpkg wicd-1.4.1-i486-2mch.tgz

    Run wicd daemon :

    Code:
    /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd start

    Start wicd from KDE BT3 beta menu

    Internet----->Network Manager(Wicd)




    That's it.
    Use your Brain, don't be slave!!!!

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Dr pepper thank you sooo very much for your post. I will try what you idicated later tonight and post back my results

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ok, I installed Wicd and I am able to see all the wireless acess points here on campus. My only problem now is the fact the campus has an open access point which Bt3 connects to automatically. When I try and select a secured one to connect to, wicd wont connect to it. I think whatever cnnection manager Bt3 uses, is blockign wicd from working correctly. I will keep trying different things. Thanks drpepperOne for getting me on the right path

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi guys,

    someone knows how to add Wicd to autostart for BT3?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    140

    Default

    someone knows how to add Wicd to autostart for BT3?
    Yeah, here is how I got Wicd to work in BT3F for a hard drive install. Follow drpepperONE directions to install wicd. After that you need to do the following.
    Code:
    bt ~ # chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.local
    bt ~ # nano /etc/rc.d/rc.local
    add the following code to rc.local
    Code:
    if [ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd ]; then
        /etc/rc.d/rc.wicd start
    fi
    Now reboot.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks, it's work fine, but why placed two icon in autostart? First is without icon and second is property wicd icon? I have installed a wicd 1.4.2 from slackware 12.1 reposytory.

    Regards

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Thanks, it's work fine, but why placed two icon in autostart? First is without icon and second is property wicd icon? I have installed a wicd 1.4.2 from slackware 12.1 reposytory.
    I was assuming that the tray icon needed to be started as boot. I compiled my own wicd package for BT3F from slackbuilds.org instead of downloading it from a repository. Thanks for letting me know. I'll update my previous post.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •